[WIP] Project Rising Sun: Suzuki SJ410k meets Leaf full stack

Tell us about the project you do with the open inverter
J0hannes

[WIP] Project Rising Sun: Suzuki SJ410k meets Leaf full stack

Post by J0hannes »

Well, looks like I'm in the business to shine some light to this project.

Maybe a word about myself first. I'm a mechanical engineer and a Suzuki nutter. The SJ Suzuki has been my 1st choise to rid me of my excess time and currency for over 25 years.

I've got a Suzuki SJ410k which has met a Samurai along its life and thus has Samurai running gear in.
This is a recreational Offroad vehicle for me but is also driven on pavement a day of driving is maybe 100-120km at worst (typical would be less than 50km and then a day of wheeling) So in that sense also a perfect candidate for a Leaf swap:)

Yes, this is a rusty shitbox, but I'm not bothered about it.

The plan:

Phase I - Get the motor stack in and run Leaf battery on the pick up bed (if it fits). The idea is to skip motor coupling with transmission and go to TC with a drive shaft. Gearing should be ok
As this will be a road use car, I'll need to add a heater. Suzuki didn't make the heater core too big, so instead of shoehorning a PTC in place of it, I'm thinking about solving heater topic with a Volkswagen heater. I was looking at them from a online wrecker and they don't seem to cost a dick and an arm. This probably needs another coolant circulation pump?
I've already converted the retrofit powersteering to electrohydraulic, so brakes would be next. Vacuum pump should do the job.
It should be a first drive at the end of Phase I.

Phase II - Repack the battery so it can be squeezed lower, between the frame rails and majority of the mass in front of the rear axle to better weight distribution. Cleanup the rats nest of cable job that will definetly emerge along the way. I'll most likely eat my words, but for the time being I don't want to invest in a separate BMS, so Leaf LBC will be used and rewiring ahead.