ESP32 Based Chademo

Development and discussion of fast charging systems eg Chademo , CCS etc
User avatar
Bigpie
Posts: 1707
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:11 pm
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 369 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by Bigpie »

I did have to put a jumper in.
IMG_20240914_101112862_HDR.jpg
It doesn't have any analogue inputs, but you could add. You could also change the code to not require any current/voltage monitoring and trust the values the charger is saying, if you so wished.
BMW E91 2006
ZombieVerter
GS450h
Outlander Charger DC/DC
Renault Kangoo 36kWh battery
Arlin
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:22 pm
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by Arlin »

Bigpie wrote: Sat Sep 14, 2024 9:15 am I did have to put a jumper in.
IMG_20240914_101112862_HDR.jpg
It doesn't have any analogue inputs, but you could add. You could also change the code to not require any current/voltage monitoring and trust the values the charger is saying, if you so wished.
Oh what is the resistor for?

Edit I just saw its on the CAN so its likely a 120 ohm resistor right?

Thanks.

-Arlin
User avatar
Bigpie
Posts: 1707
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:11 pm
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Has thanked: 77 times
Been thanked: 369 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by Bigpie »

It is a can terminator on the second can
BMW E91 2006
ZombieVerter
GS450h
Outlander Charger DC/DC
Renault Kangoo 36kWh battery
Arlin
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:22 pm
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by Arlin »

Romale wrote: Sat Sep 14, 2024 8:27 am hello everyone! Can I also ask a stupid question?
Can this device work with a hall effect current sensor? or on a regular 75 mv shunt?
Isabella's shunt is very expensive, it seems to me, in order to be accessible to the masses.
You will want to use a shunt. The problem with the hall effect sensors is they don't 0 well. Where as a Shunt sends 0 voltage at 0 current so its always calibrated
Arlin
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:22 pm
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by Arlin »

Bigpie wrote: Thu Sep 12, 2024 5:56 am If you connect to the ESP32 wifi network and the ip address will be 192.168.4.1
Ok back to this. I think I found the problem. Is default IP for ESP32 should be 192.168.4.1 But mine is not defining the default serial.
I added this in the INO file.
image.png
And got this in the serial printout on the Arduino screen.


Anyone know how to add a set IP address?
image.png
Arlin
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:22 pm
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by Arlin »

uhi22 wrote: Fri Sep 13, 2024 6:24 am ESP is picky regarding power supply. It usually crashes if the voltage drops due to high current consumption during WiFi transmission. Use a lab power supply or at least a shorter heavy USB cable.
I have tried a 100w USB wall adapter with a short and thick USB cable. I have also done the 3.3 jumper wire and run it from a 1000a 12v batter and the 3.3v rail was solid
It seems to be wifi settings and maybe something else as the wifi connection is not easy to make and seems to jump in and out.
Is there a Bluetooth thing to shut off? Maybe I will try shutting Bluetooth off in my PC
Arlin
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:22 pm
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by Arlin »

Arlin wrote: Sat Sep 14, 2024 8:40 pm Ok back to this. I think I found the problem. Is default IP for ESP32 should be 192.168.4.1 But mine is not defining the default serial.
I added this in the INO file.
image.png

And got this in the serial printout on the Arduino screen.


Anyone know how to add a set IP address? image.png
And changing it to this.
image.png
I got this.
image.png
tom91
Posts: 1741
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 149 times
Been thanked: 339 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by tom91 »

Wifi starts further down. so only have it print the IP towards the end of the setup() section.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
Arlin
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Oct 15, 2021 8:22 pm
Has thanked: 8 times

Re: ESP32 Based Chademo

Post by Arlin »

Tried it this way as well. Still 0.0.0.0

Also do I need to change WiFi.begin("Beetle_CHademo", "Fia84grapu"), to something else?

Thanks

-Arlin
image.png
Post Reply