Develop a QCA7000 board?

Development and discussion of fast charging systems eg Chademo , CCS etc
User avatar
catphish
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:02 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 179 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by catphish »

Pete9008 wrote: Wed Jul 12, 2023 7:38 pm Not really fussed but to me a 3V3_uC rail fail = contactors on is not ideal. Uhi's design but with a non inverting buffer instead of the 04 sorts it so seems worth doing to me?
Sorry, I didn't notice they were inverting. I agree the ideal is to use non-inverting (or just feed it through 2 inverting gates) with a pull-down on both input and output.
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

Very valuable inputs. I want to say a big "thank you".
I added the most important changes to the board ( https://github.com/uhi22/foccci#finished-todos ), and the others to the todo list ( https://github.com/uhi22/foccci#todos-for-later )

Regarding the contactor driver: Yes, non-inverting is better. Now using two inverters in series, and pull-down at the input. At the output no pulldown is needed, because when it is powered, it will drive actively, and if it is unpowered, the clamp diodes pull hold the outputs near to ground.

Also added pdf schematic.

This is how it looks now. More complex than initially thought. But yes, it's not only the QCA and STM. Also lot of power supply stuff, the contactor driver, CP logic, analog inputs, programming and debugging connectors, and a bunch of unconnected spare holes for extensions and workarounds.
image.png
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

While the new board is travelling from Asia to Europe (btw: $4.54 for 5 boards from https://jlcpcb.com/, including all shipping, taxes and so on), prepared some software which runs on an STM32F303 NUCLEO board. It is based on the ESP32-with-arduino-variant https://github.com/uhi22/ccs32berta, and the major task was to kick-out the Arduino specific things. Now it is pure C code, and the controller-dependencies are concentrated in a single file, main.c, which is anyway generated by the CubeIDE. So further porting to other platforms should be easy now. Here it is: https://github.com/uhi22/ccs32clara
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

Regarding the HV sensing board from @muehlpower (thanks for providing a sample): Just realized, that the board has a voltage output, not a current output. Found this in the LIM thread:
image.png
Together with the proposed opposite in the foccci
image.png
I see the risk that the amplifier is not happy with the high capacitive load. I did not study the data sheet, but from my experience capacitive loads on operational amplifiers could cause instabilities. I would tend to NOT populate the C71.

And an other question: The series of 240 + 240 ohm is 480 ohms. Is this the original circuit of the LIM? Or is 470 (with some tolerances) used?
User avatar
muehlpower
Posts: 585
Joined: Fri Oct 11, 2019 10:51 am
Location: Germany Fürstenfeldbruck
Has thanked: 12 times
Been thanked: 106 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by muehlpower »

The 4 resistors are in the LIM, there are also the two capacitors, but I don't know their value. With BMW and Lars' board, a current signal is transmitted, with me a voltage. As long as the total pull down resistance is 476.7 ohms, all boards should work. The input capacitor can also be small, since the second one effectively smoothes
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

royhen99 wrote: Tue Jul 11, 2023 1:36 pm SN65HVD234 CAN transceiver needs EN pin pulling high. If not using enable pin better to use SN65HVD230.
I studied the data sheet 20 times, and see it in the same way: The SN65HVD234 needs the EN pin on high. I considered this in the current prototype, and populated the chip which has the correct '234 on the label. But: It does not output dominant levels on the CANH and CANL. It only loops-back the TX data on the RX data pin. If I just disconnect the EN pin, it works correctly. This is strange. The only explanantion which I have, that the cheap chinese source sold wrongly labeled chips, which are in fact not the original SN65HVD234.

Progress: The STM32F103 is running on the board version 2023-07-13, flashing the software works, the serial line, the LEDs and finally also the CAN. Next actions will be to populate the QCA and run more tests. The only findings so far are too small footprints for some bigger capacitors, and a lot of unreadable silk screen texts due to collision with components or solder mask. Overall a good progress.
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

The combined board with STM32F103 and QCA starts talking CCS :-)
image.png
https://github.com/uhi22/foccci#2023-07 ... op-reached
User avatar
catphish
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:02 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 179 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by catphish »

uhi22 wrote: Fri Jul 28, 2023 6:41 am The combined board with STM32F103 and QCA starts talking CCS :-)
Incredible! Thank you for all your efforts on this. I hope it's working as it should so far.
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5874
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 1089 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

Great achievement, CCS with the humble F1 :) I wonder what loads it down more, motor control or charging ;)

This is the software? https://github.com/uhi22/ccs32clara
Any chance you could check in the makefile? Having trouble installing CubeIDE on manjaro
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

Yes, it is the clara software. I tried to have two variants, one for the F303 nucleo board and one for the F103 which is used on my board, in one single git repository. Only the F103 variant is tested lately. The F303 should not be far away, it worked before re-arrangement of the folder structure.

Makefile? I need to check whether the cubeIDE generates a makefile (next week).
User avatar
catphish
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:02 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 179 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by catphish »

uhi22 wrote: Fri Jul 28, 2023 8:48 am Yes, it is the clara software. I tried to have two variants, one for the F303 nucleo board and one for the F103 which is used on my board, in one single git repository. Only the F103 variant is tested lately. The F303 should not be far away, it worked before re-arrangement of the folder structure.

Makefile? I need to check whether the cubeIDE generates a makefile (next week).
As far as I know, CubeIDE doesn't generate a Makefile, the project can only be used in CubeIDE. I tried this but decided to switch to CubeMX instead which generates a normal Makefike project, then I use my own tools to edit and compile. However, if you like CubeIDE i'd stick with it. In particular because it makes debugging much easier if you like that sort of thing.
User avatar
asavage
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat May 14, 2022 10:57 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Has thanked: 300 times
Been thanked: 111 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by asavage »

I'm excited about the progress.
I've sent Uwe a little extra this month, for boards or beers or whatever. This is my favourite thread on OI ATM.
Al Savage
2014 RAV4 EV
NissanDiesel
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

johu wrote: Fri Jul 28, 2023 8:30 am This is the software? https://github.com/uhi22/ccs32clara
Any chance you could check in the makefile?
Now I included also the build folders of the CubeIDE into git, these contain some make files. The main makefile seems to be in \ccs32clara\board_STM32F103\Debug, and some other .mk are flying around. I have no clue whether this helps. ;-)
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5874
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 1089 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

I was able to build after fixing some absolute paths (now I know your first name - big secret :) ) and removing -fcyclomatic-complexity from the compiler options. .text section is about 200k, right?
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

I did not check for the sizes, just was happy that it fits to the F103RE controller. :-) Best regards, Uwe :-)
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

First bulb-demo-charging on Alpitronic worked at the first attempt. The red board is the voltage sense board from @muehlpower. The display gets some status data via CAN.
IMG_20230803_120934.jpg
Some key facts:
* Board: The Foccci from July (https://github.com/uhi22/foccci)
* QCA7005 modem chip. The protection and filtering circuit in the RF path have not been populated so far. Also not all C's on the supply rails have been populated.
* Only one Contactor driver populated (not the planned one, just a n-channel-power-MOSFET for testing).
* CAN running with 500kBaud
* Display project: TFT driven by a STM32 "bluepill", gets status data via CAN. https://github.com/uhi22/TFT-with-CAN and powered by a separate 5V USB power bank.
* Contactors: Cheap chinese relays with 5V coil (just for testing).
* High-voltage sensing: The muehlpower board.
* Controller: STM32F103RE
* Software: The Clara (https://github.com/uhi22/ccs32clara), developed in the STM CubeIDE. Includes the exi decoder/encoder for DIN schema, copied from https://github.com/Martin-P/OpenV2G.
* Powered by 5V USB power bank. This is not ideal. The 3.3V are fine, but the muehlpower board would need 5V, and gets only 4.3V.
* RF transformer: RIK10 from https://www.reichelt.de/ringkern-aus-fe ... search=RIK
* Temperature sensors: Two channels with real NTCs (10k, VISHAY NTCLE100E3, https://www.reichelt.de/index.html?ACTI ... NG_TDS.pdf). Third temperature channel connected to a fix 1k resistor (just for testing).
* Power supply: Only one 3.3V linear regulator populated, which drives both, the STM32 and the QCA.
image.png
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

Since the JLCPCB has a minimum quantity of five, and the boards are working better than expected, I could provide it if somebody is interested. Could also bundle it with QCA, controller and SPI-FLASH. (I do not plan to create a shop, just offering the few leftover parts.)
IMG_20230804_155546.jpg
User avatar
Bigpie
Posts: 1604
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2019 8:11 pm
Location: South Yorkshire, UK
Has thanked: 75 times
Been thanked: 314 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by Bigpie »

Not something I'd be after, can't be bothered assembling :D I'd order assembled as much as possible from JLCPCB. Not sure how much further you're planing on developing this board but thinking about how to best have CCS sit alongside AC charging, I'm currently thinking it's best as standalone for CCS and have some external charging controller that looks for the 5% and switches the CCS on to the CP or other and switches the AC charger on to it.

Anyway, appreciate the huge effort you've put in, this whole thing is awesome.
VW Beetle 2003
Outlander front generator
Prius Gen 3 inverter (EVBMW logic board)
Outlander charger
3x Golf GTE batteries
Chademo Charging
Outlander water heater
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5874
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 172 times
Been thanked: 1089 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

I'll take one, maybe I get around to populating it. Should have most passives here.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

Bigpie wrote: Fri Aug 04, 2023 2:28 pm I'd order assembled as much as possible from JLCPCB.
This definitely makes sense, but we are not such far yet. Most of the components have none or the wrong JLC part number assigned, so we need a cleanup first.
Bigpie wrote: Fri Aug 04, 2023 2:28 pm Not sure how much further you're planing on developing this board but thinking about how to best have CCS sit alongside AC charging, I'm currently thinking it's best as standalone for CCS and have some external charging controller that looks for the 5% and switches the CCS on to the CP or other and switches the AC charger on to it.
I also do not have a clear plan. My main goal, to check whether the STM and QCA together could work, is reached. The most interesting next step would be a car integration, and depending on this, some more extensions, e.g. measuring the CP PWM, as Catphish proposed above. Or the connector lock motor. It depends on the AC charger, whether the CP measurement makes sense (we would need to send the measured PWM to the AC charger via CAN or something like this). Or maybe it makes more sense with an external coordinator to coordinate between AC and DC charging. I think many options are possible, and each has pro and cons. I think, it makes sense to concentrate just on one possible way in the beginning, and to follow this route to the end, to have some success story. This motivates to go other ways - afterwards.

Personally I do not plan a car integration. So any volunteer welcome, to identify the next important steps (besides the part number topics).

BTW: How important are housings? Assuming, the electronics is in the cabin, where it is dry and clean, how much is the need for a water-proof housing? Is it necessary to pay more money for the housing and connector then for the components inside?
User avatar
catphish
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:02 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 179 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by catphish »

uhi22 wrote: Mon Aug 07, 2023 10:21 pm BTW: How important are housings? Assuming, the electronics is in the cabin, where it is dry and clean, how much is the need for a water-proof housing? Is it necessary to pay more money for the housing and connector then for the components inside?
I spent a decent amount of time researching housings recently. I'm a big fan of the following options, depending on how many sockets / pins you need:

DTM13-12PA-R008 - 12 pins
DTM13-12PA-12PB-R008 - 2 x 12 pins
5810120011 - 20 pins

These all offer a robust connector and easily mountable waterproof housing and in my opinion are well worth the cost. I personally prefer the Deutsch connectors, assuming 12 or 2x12 connectors is suitable.
Attachments
PXL_20230708_100035003.jpg
PXL_20230720_151315159.jpg
PXL_20230720_142253013.jpg
P.S.Mangelsdorf
Posts: 785
Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 pm
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Has thanked: 97 times
Been thanked: 105 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by P.S.Mangelsdorf »

uhi22 wrote: Mon Aug 07, 2023 10:21 pm
Personally I do not plan a car integration. So any volunteer welcome, to identify the next important steps (besides the part number topics).
I have a lot that needs to be done on my car before an event in September, but after that event (i.e. October), I volunteer my car as a test bed. I'm not much help in the code department, but I can data log and try things out.
If at first you don't succeed, buy a bigger hammer.

1940 Chevrolet w/ Tesla LDU - "Shocking Chevy" - Completed 2023 Hot Rod Drag Week
grgumxlm
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2023 10:25 am
Has thanked: 15 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by grgumxlm »

uhi22 wrote: Fri Aug 04, 2023 2:04 pm Since the JLCPCB has a minimum quantity of five, and the boards are working better than expected, I could provide it if somebody is interested. Could also bundle it with QCA, controller and SPI-FLASH. (I do not plan to create a shop, just offering the few leftover parts.)
IMG_20230804_155546.jpg
Idea: Could you send the leftovers to johu? Then you would only have to package one package and johu who is experienced with running a shop could send them around the world at a custom request.
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 671
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 434 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

I feel johu has enough construction sites already, and I'm happy to prepare bundles on request. This is not an issue. If we come to higher volumes, it's another story, of course.

@catphish Is a kicad symbol/footprint available for the DTM13-12PA-12PB-R008 - 2 x 12 pins?
royhen99
Posts: 221
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2022 4:23 am
Location: N. Wiltshire. UK
Has thanked: 17 times
Been thanked: 109 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by royhen99 »

Available from TE website, https://www.te.com/usa-en/product-DTM13 ... BR008.html
down the page a little under CAD files.
Post Reply