Develop a QCA7000 board?

Development and discussion of fast charging systems eg Chademo , CCS etc
quentin42
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 9:12 am

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by quentin42 »

I need your help please.
I have a 4.1 focci, with the fixed on PP: 330ohm pull up + 47k
Flash STM et ESP32 : OK
Communication with the QCA chip seems ok: opmode = 100, and the rgb button is solid green.
I plugged into an Ionity terminal, but nothing happened. The charger did not detect the connection.
opmode remained at 100.
I checked everything, I don't know what else I can test.
:cry:
User avatar
dougyip
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 2:02 pm
Location: Vancouver, BC
Has thanked: 8 times
Been thanked: 10 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by dougyip »

Thanks johu and uhi22 for your quick response. I am not aware of a separate QCA-Thread. You're right though, separating board/software development and use of Focci/Clara would be a good idea.
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 609
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 415 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

quentin42 wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2024 3:10 pm I plugged into an Ionity terminal, but nothing happened. The charger did not detect the connection.
opmode remained at 100.
I checked everything, I don't know what else I can test.
For trouble shooting it is recommended to create a log file of the serial output. You need a serial-to-usb converter and connect it to the UART TX line and ground. For recording, you can use e.g. Putty on windows or any console program.
Additionally, you could check in the web interface whether the 5% PWM are detected. And measure with a multimeter, whether you see the 12V on CP as long as Foccci is completely removed.

[Edit]
quentin42 wrote: Tue Apr 02, 2024 3:10 pm I have a 4.1 focci, with the fixed on PP: 330ohm pull up + 47k
The 4.1 has the issue with the shortened receive inputs. If you ordered it in the shop or got it from me, this issue is solved by removing L5 and L7 as discussed here: viewtopic.php?p=64235#p64235 and here https://github.com/uhi22/foccci#v41-2023-10-25 . If you ordered by your own, you need to apply this patch.
quentin42
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 9:12 am

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by quentin42 »

Thank you so much,

This allowed me to detect that my CP was disconnected, I had a micro cut on the PCB. I tested with my granny EVSE, and the PWM was detected.

I deleted L5 and L7 which were present, but perhaps too quickly, because on the last diagram, it was still present. My card comes from the focci repo at the end of December (after 4.1 but before 4.2), the real fix may have already been applied ?
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 609
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 415 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

The commit history on github shows that at 18.12. the issue was fixed. But it does not matter if you removed L5 and L7.
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 609
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 415 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

Foccci for laptop charging
Foccci for laptop charging
Laptop during DC charging
Laptop during DC charging
The laptop power supply had no problem with the DC current.
quentin42
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 9:12 am

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by quentin42 »

I went back to ionity.
CP is ok, PWM is detected at 5%

But no communication. :cry:

Here are the oscilloscope tests

CP :
PXL_20240404_113026572.jpg
Input Modem RF (Test to R25 resistor) :
PXL_20240404_112743419.jpg
RX_N / RX_P / RXIN_N / RXIN_P : 0V
TX_N / TX_P / TXOUT_N / TXOUT_P : ~1.2V constant

Log SM32 :
Test_Ionity.txt
(190.17 KiB) Downloaded 10 times

[edit]

The QCA log is strange. The version is not "normal".

Code: Select all

[10] [CONNMGR] 165 0 0 0 0 0 0 --> 0
[10] ETH rx HP: ffffffffffff00b05200000188e10062a000b05204000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
[10] [CONNMGR] ConnectionLevel changed from 0 to 5.
[10] ETH will transmit: ffffffffffff02342666164388e10000a000b05200000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
[70] ETH rx HP: 02342666164300b05200000188e10001a000b05200060b426f6f744c6f61646572000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000007c581b0000000000010000003f00000000000000
[70] [PEVSLAC] received GET_SW.CNF
For MAC 00:b0:52:00:00:01 software version BootLoader 
[550] [CONNMGR] ConnectionLevel changed from 5 to 10.
[550] [PEVSLAC] from 0 entering 2
[580] [PEVSLAC] Checkpoint100: Sending SLAC_PARAM.REQ.
Why version is "Bootloader" ?


[edit2]

I am searching QC7000 + version Bootloader, and i am found a interesting code on github/open-plc-utils.

i have perhaps a particilar chip serial ?

Extract from https://github.com/qca/open-plc-utils/b ... set.c#L432:

Code: Select all

	if (! strcmp (confirm->MVERSION, "BootLoader"))
	{
		for (chip = 0; chip < SIZEOF (bootrom); chip++)
		{
			if (bootrom [chip].CLASS != confirm->MDEVICE_CLASS)
			{
				continue;
			}
			if (bootrom [chip].STRAP != LE32TOH (chipinfo->STRAP))
			{
				continue;
			}
			confirm->MDEVICE_CLASS = bootrom [chip].DEVICE;
			* ident = LE32TOH (chipinfo->STRAP);
			return;
		}
	}
	else
	{
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 160 times
Been thanked: 1031 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

I'm testing the latest revision now (https://github.com/jsphuebner/foccci/tree/wakeup)

The wakeup now (almost) works as expected. I found the 10k pull-up on the button is too high. With the 100k+22k divider for the uC sense pin it sits like 0.7V below supply voltage and that is already enough to trigger the mosfet and activate the 5V regulator. So I lowered it to 1k for now and that fixes it. Maybe 4k7 or 3k3 would also work, haven't tried. Same goes for the PP pull-up.

Wakeup via CP works beautifully, as long as I keep the PWM running Foccci stays on, 10s after I stop PWM it shuts itself down. All the other wakeup also react as expected.

The new contactor driver works well but you have to keep in mind it forms a boost converter:
Gescanntes Dokument.png
Safer to run the relays to GND. Otherwise it's just the TVS limiting the voltage and it failed to do so once when I tested with a higher value inductor - 5V regulator was fried. I think the reason why the TVS didn't limit effectively is the thin trace going to it and also trace inductance.

I also think running the contactors at 100% duty for 1s when starting is a bit long. Usually it will have pulled in after 50ms or so.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 160 times
Been thanked: 1031 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

I have split Dougs latest question to a new "user thread" viewtopic.php?t=4889
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 609
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 415 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

I do not see the boost converter in the picture. As long as the lower switch is on, the current through the L rises. If the lower switch is off, the current keeps running via the upper diode or upper switch, the voltage is only rised by the forward voltage of the upper diode in worst case. Everything perfect, what is missing?
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 160 times
Been thanked: 1031 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

argh, the picture is wrong. The relay is connected before the reverse polarity diode.
I saw it on the scope that while the relay was on supply voltage (behind the diode) had risen from 12 to 20V!
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 609
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 92 times
Been thanked: 415 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by uhi22 »

quentin42 wrote: Thu Apr 04, 2024 2:29 pm
RX_N / RX_P / RXIN_N / RXIN_P : 0V
TX_N / TX_P / TXOUT_N / TXOUT_P : ~1.2V constant

[70] [PEVSLAC] received GET_SW.CNF
For MAC 00:b0:52:00:00:01 software version BootLoader
If the QCA reports "Bootloader" as software version, it was not able to load its firmware from the SPI flash. I've never seen this before, but just tried: De-solder the SPI-flash, and I get the same message. Added into the trouble shooting hints: https://github.com/uhi22/foccci#clara-s ... tis-normal

Also you voltages on RX and TX look strange. Directly on the QCA, I measure around 1.6V on TX and RX pins. Added this into https://github.com/uhi22/foccci#no-comm ... r-possible
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 160 times
Been thanked: 1031 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

uhi22 wrote: Sun Apr 07, 2024 11:22 am If the QCA reports "Bootloader" as software version, it was not able to load its firmware from the SPI flash
Coincidentally I just had that exact symptom. Turns out the QCA had some bad solder joints. Quite intuitively on the side pointing towards the flash. Also the SPI flash itself had an unsoldered pin. Not sure if that was part of the issue as the flash programmed fine.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
quentin42
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2023 9:12 am

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by quentin42 »

SO,
U1 was not flashed, it's a big mistake on my part. I had seen the documentation, but I thought it was an old procedure for flashing the STM32. :?
After the flash, the QCA was recognized. RX/TX were at 1.6V. :D
I was also able to get pyplc to work in EVSE mode.
Next step, return to ionity....
Thank you so much.

For powering your laptop, it's cool; so a simple usb chargeur should be able to recharge the powerbank (or a internal battery).
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 160 times
Been thanked: 1031 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

Another milestone reached today. I ordered 10 QCA7005 chips to JLCPCBs factory and can now select it for assembly :)

They are a bit expensive at 28€ a piece but that is better than loosing chips to nasty soldering, let alone the time this consumes.

So this quantity will appear in the shop in about 2 weeks.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
catphish
Posts: 955
Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2021 11:02 pm
Location: Dorset, UK
Has thanked: 94 times
Been thanked: 179 times

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by catphish »

johu wrote: Thu Apr 11, 2024 5:23 pm Another milestone reached today. I ordered 10 QCA7005 chips to JLCPCBs factory and can now select it for assembly :)
This is fantastic news, and the price is perfectly reasonable considering the value of the finished board! Looking forward to seeing some "v1" boards.

:idea: :idea: :idea:
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 160 times
Been thanked: 1031 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

Yes indeed. It's 28€ just for the QCA chip and like 20€ for the remaining board :)

Order went wrong. Went through till payment, then suddenly jumped to order history. Cart and history empty :( Couldn't start over because the QCAs are now stuck in the zombie order. Meh, they'll figure it out. I have yet to find a time when nobody responds on their chat thingy. I don't know how they do it, it's quite amazing.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 160 times
Been thanked: 1031 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

The order has gone through now, I'm excited!

On another note I wanted your input on this. Here is the current pinout:
focci_pinout.jpg
The two contactor outputs are on different plugs. The LEDs and button are not on the plug that is more charge port oriented but on the car oriented one. Now I thought it would be more stringent to arrange like so:
focci_pinout-mod.jpg
That way all wires going towards the charge port are in one common harness and so are the ones going to the car. I'd assume the voltage sense board to be mounted with the charge port contactors.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
celeron55
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Jul 04, 2019 3:04 pm
Location: Finland
Has thanked: 28 times
Been thanked: 110 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by celeron55 »

That new pin ordering makes a lot of sense. The contactors and the voltage monitor are likely to be located in a junction box that is very much a "car side" thing. Are all of the pins other than LOCK_MOT1 and LOCK_MOT2 referenced to ground? This would mean the only signal you need to bring to the charge port in addition to the "charge port side" pins would be ground, which is reasonable enough.
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5799
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 160 times
Been thanked: 1031 times
Contact:

Re: Develop a QCA7000 board?

Post by johu »

celeron55 wrote: Sat Apr 13, 2024 8:00 pm Are all of the pins other than LOCK_MOT1 and LOCK_MOT2 referenced to ground?
Yes exactly. PE should be solidly connected to the chassis not far away from the charge port so that would serve as a ground reference for the signals

I guess the design is still young enough for shuffling pins
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
Post Reply