Auris/Yaris inverter

Topics concerning the Toyota and Lexus inverter drop in boards
Post Reply
Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

Hi
Help me please with problem
Din_start always “On” but stm32 pin 58 (MG2 start) has 0V
How to fix it? I can’t save parameters because board always run and can’t stoped
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by bexander »

Please, provide more information:
Which logic board and version are you using?
What version of the SW are you running?
Have you tried using "stop inverter"-button in web interface?
Have you tried upload SW from web interface?
Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

I use a diy board assembled according to the Auris / Yaris V2B4 inverter circuits. Firmware version 5.24R-foc. The "stop the inverter" button in the web interface does not stop the inverter. I tried to download the software through the web interface, but it gave an error. I also checked with an oscilloscope the presence of a PWM on the outputs, it is only on 2 pins (pwm1_n and pwm2_n) in testing mode.
Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

I didn’t say correctly, on pins pwm3_p and pwm2_p there is a PWM, on others there is nothing
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by bexander »

Dennad wrote: Sun Jan 15, 2023 12:53 pm I use a diy board assembled according to the Auris / Yaris V2B4 inverter circuits.
Please clarify, have you designed the board your self or bought one from evbmw?
Could there be some kind of soldering mishap or similar? Have you double checked all your solderings? No shorts?
Pete9008
Posts: 1801
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2022 1:57 pm
Has thanked: 102 times
Been thanked: 347 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Pete9008 »

If it is a custom board then there is a good chance it's being recognised as the wrong hardware. The OI firmware goes through quite a sophisticated process of pin checks to work out what hardware it is running on and then changes the pins used accordingly. Worth checking what HWVER is being reported in the web interface
Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

I designed the board myself. Soldering is in order and there are no short circuits. I checked pin 58 (start) and it turned out that it was not working. It seems that the matter is in the stm32 itself. In the web interface, the board is defined as Prius
Pete9008
Posts: 1801
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2022 1:57 pm
Has thanked: 102 times
Been thanked: 347 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Pete9008 »

That explains pwm1_n and pwm2_n, the Prius code doesn't generate those. You probably want HW_REV3 to use both pos and neg outputs, suggest you have a look at the code that detects what board the code is running on to see what you need to change.
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by bexander »

Here is the part of the code that detects what HW you are running.
Looks like you need to pull-up or down the Desat and Cruise pins to get it to detect as HW_REV3.

Code: Select all

HWREV detect_hw()
{
   //Pull low via 30k the precharge output to test whether it is tied to Vcc
   gpio_set_mode(GPIOB, GPIO_MODE_INPUT, GPIO_CNF_INPUT_PULL_UPDOWN, GPIO1);

   if (!is_existent(GPIOC, GPIO12)) //Olimex LED pin does not exist
      return HW_BLUEPILL;
   /*else if (is_floating(GPIOC, GPIO1))
      return HW_PRIUSMG1;*/
   //else if (gpio_get(GPIOB, GPIO1)) //On Tesla M3 board precharge output is tied to Vcc
     // return HW_TESLAM3;
   else if (is_floating(GPIOC, GPIO9)) //Desat pin is floating
      return HW_REV1;
   else if (is_floating(GPIOB, GPIO5)) //Cruise pin is floating
      return HW_PRIUS;
   else if (is_floating(GPIOA, GPIO0)) //uvlo/button pin is floating
      return HW_REV3;
   else if (is_floating(GPIOC, GPIO8)) //bms input is output for mux and floating
      return HW_TESLA;
   else
      return HW_REV2;
}
Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

Is it possible to get foc firmware source code? This would solve my problem with a broken pin if pull-downed it in to gnd.
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by bexander »

Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

Oh I thought sin sw was only for induction motors and can't be used for synchronous motors. Thank you!
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by bexander »

Same SW with different build options. Look at the section furthest down on the github.
Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

I tried to build sw and got issue
"Execution of 'CONTROL=SINE make' in 'C:\Users\.....\stm32-sine-5.24.R' failed."
What I doing wrong? I installed arm-none-eabi toolchain and set it in to toolchain executables
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by bexander »

I think you are suppose to run only "make" and not "CONTROL=SINE make" to build the sine version?
Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

I'm trying to figure out how to compile the firmware, but I can't. What you need to open and where to typing "make"? I tried to build it in Code::Blocks but it doesn't work.
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by bexander »

I could compile the foc but not the sine from the latest SW. Don't know if you need to use an older verion to get the sine to work.

How I did the FOC compile, in Linux Mint.
In Terminal, sudo apt-get install git gcc-arm-none-eabi
Create a folder with desired name.
In Terminal, go to folder and type: git clone https://github.com/jsphuebner/stm32-sine
Go into stm32-sine folder.
In Terminal, make get-deps.
In Terminal, CONTROL=FOC make
Now there is a stm32_foc.bin available.

If I try in Terminal, make, to build sine I get the following error message:
LD stm32_sine
/usr/lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/9.2.1/../../../arm-none-eabi/bin/ld: obj/stm32_sine.o: in function `Param::Change(Param::PARAM_NUM)':
stm32_sine.cpp:(.text._ZN5Param6ChangeENS_9PARAM_NUME+0x52): undefined reference to `PwmGeneration::SetControllerGains(int, int)'
/usr/lib/gcc/arm-none-eabi/9.2.1/../../../arm-none-eabi/bin/ld: stm32_sine.cpp:(.text._ZN5Param6ChangeENS_9PARAM_NUME+0x84): undefined reference to `FOC::SetMotorParameters(float, float)'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make: *** [Makefile:107: stm32_sine] Error 1

If you are on another OS (windows, mac) I got nothing :(
Dennad
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2022 9:55 am
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by Dennad »

I installed linux and was able to compile. Thank you! All my attempts to do this in windows turned out to be useless.
User avatar
youngpoland
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2023 10:04 am
Has thanked: 14 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by youngpoland »

When I run it, I get the error [18] DERATE-TMPHSMAX. The small_dual_v1d board has the latest soft stm32_sin loaded, only the gas pedal from BMW is connected.
Clipboard01.jpg
Clipboard04.jpg
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 834
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Has thanked: 63 times
Been thanked: 89 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by bexander »

You get a heat sink temperature derate. What heat sink temperature sensor have you selected? I run "snshs": 1 i.e. "semikron". Seem to work well for the toyota inverters.
And what does your heat sink temperature read? "tmphs" under "Spot Values".
User avatar
youngpoland
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2023 10:04 am
Has thanked: 14 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by youngpoland »

thank you very much for the hint. change "snshs": 1 i.e. "semicron" helped. I am very grateful for your help
User avatar
youngpoland
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Feb 05, 2023 10:04 am
Has thanked: 14 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by youngpoland »

I have another question. are all the parameters displayed in the web interface described somewhere? I will ask for a link.
User avatar
lsh3rd
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2021 12:30 am
Location: Atlanta, GA USA
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 35 times

Re: Auris/Yaris inverter

Post by lsh3rd »

youngpoland wrote: Thu Feb 16, 2023 7:50 pm I have another question. are all the parameters displayed in the web interface described somewhere? I will ask for a link.
Here you go:
https://openinverter.org/wiki/Parameters
Post Reply