I try to deal with the CAN topic. Car is running basically and everything is fine, but there are still silly messages in the dash like 'Motorstoerung Werkstatt'. As far as I know I use the CAN ID 0x480 byte 6 bit 4 set it to zero and that's it. Using the command line or web interface allows only to use the known parameters, right? Or ist there a possibility to define new parameters for stuff like that to get rid of these lousy no longer needed messages?
Same for activating some signals in the dashboard.
New parameter CAN Bus
- tom91
- Posts: 2078
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 177 times
- Been thanked: 461 times
Re: New parameter
which car? You running a Zombie?
We can look at adding it to the appropriate vehicle class so it automatically gets sent.
We can look at adding it to the appropriate vehicle class so it automatically gets sent.
- bewo
- Posts: 17
- Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2024 9:06 pm
- Location: Germany NRW
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: New parameter CAN Bus
So I'm driving a VW Multivan T5.2. Actually I use the brain board rev.3. The idea is to get rid of the original ECU, cause we have some challenges with that. We use a Tesla SDU drive train with a Curtis controller. So the problem is that several things are not working. No heated seats and no heated back windows. I found out, that this can be fixed with the rpm signal what refers to 0x280. So far so good.
The main problem is that the original car has a DSG gearbox and it was a 4WD car. Both CUs are no langer available a for that some things are not working in the car. One possible solution could be to flash the ECU same car with manual gearbox and without 4WD. That is expensive and can result in a damage which isn't fixable. You have to flash cause it's not possible to configure it via VAGCOM or other software.
That's the reason we are doing experiments with the brain board to get things done. The DSG is having his fingers in to much pies. For example the parking sensors are not working, cause they use not only the wheel speed via ABS CU they are also using the DAS as a reference.
The main problem is that the original car has a DSG gearbox and it was a 4WD car. Both CUs are no langer available a for that some things are not working in the car. One possible solution could be to flash the ECU same car with manual gearbox and without 4WD. That is expensive and can result in a damage which isn't fixable. You have to flash cause it's not possible to configure it via VAGCOM or other software.
That's the reason we are doing experiments with the brain board to get things done. The DSG is having his fingers in to much pies. For example the parking sensors are not working, cause they use not only the wheel speed via ABS CU they are also using the DAS as a reference.
- johu
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6424
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
- Location: Kassel/Germany
- Has thanked: 290 times
- Been thanked: 1384 times
- Contact:
Re: New parameter CAN Bus
So I'm guessing it goes beyond this? https://openinverter.org/wiki/VW_Touran_Conversion
I'd always start with SavvyCAN either playing back CAN logs. These can also be customized so simulate the correct message sequence with upcounters etc.
I don't understand this Tesla SDU with Curtis? You run a Tesla motor with a Curtis inverter? Is the brain board acting as VCU?
I'd always start with SavvyCAN either playing back CAN logs. These can also be customized so simulate the correct message sequence with upcounters etc.
I don't understand this Tesla SDU with Curtis? You run a Tesla motor with a Curtis inverter? Is the brain board acting as VCU?
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
- bewo
- Posts: 17
- Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2024 9:06 pm
- Location: Germany NRW
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: New parameter CAN Bus
Yes it goes beyond your conversion and I have a CAN sniffer to get logs etc.. Did that to check which messages are on the bus and which are relevant. Just want to know how to configure the brain board to send several CAN messages to emulate the some parts of the original ECU like you did. So where do you send the messages for EPC, Motorstörung, engine?
No the brain board is not acting as a VCU. All things needed are configured with the Curtis. Will change to an original Tesla Inverter in the future, but that won't fix the 'problems' I addressed.
No the brain board is not acting as a VCU. All things needed are configured with the Curtis. Will change to an original Tesla Inverter in the future, but that won't fix the 'problems' I addressed.
- johu
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6424
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
- Location: Kassel/Germany
- Has thanked: 290 times
- Been thanked: 1384 times
- Contact:
Re: New parameter CAN Bus
Have you seen this? https://github.com/jsphuebner/stm32-car
I have partially hard coded some CAN messages and dynamically mapped others. Maybe serves as a template for what you want to do.
I have partially hard coded some CAN messages and dynamically mapped others. Maybe serves as a template for what you want to do.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
- bewo
- Posts: 17
- Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2024 9:06 pm
- Location: Germany NRW
- Has thanked: 1 time
- Been thanked: 3 times
Re: New parameter CAN Bus
So am I right that you include a part of the stm32-car code in the firmware you use on your brain board (I think it's a Rev 2) to implement it in your Touran to shut up unwished messages?johu wrote: ↑Sat Jan 04, 2025 11:21 am Have you seen this? https://github.com/jsphuebner/stm32-car
I have partially hard coded some CAN messages and dynamically mapped others. Maybe serves as a template for what you want to do.
- johu
- Site Admin
- Posts: 6424
- Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
- Location: Kassel/Germany
- Has thanked: 290 times
- Been thanked: 1384 times
- Contact:
Re: New parameter CAN Bus
Well yeah, what else would it do? Stm32-car IS the VCU software of Touran. It is completely separate from the inverter though. I.e.it runs on a bespoke main board
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9