what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Discussion about various user interfaces such as web interface, displays and apps
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

Hello, I soldered the V6 together myself just to learn, but I just can't flash the ESP32, TX to TX and RX to RX are connected, I also tested 2 different programmers, but nothing, what am I doing wrong ??? I also soldered 2 because I suspected I was using the wrong components, but same with the same result
20240210_004042.jpg
20240210_004025.jpg
20240210_003957.jpg
Screenshot (190).png
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5791
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1025 times
Contact:

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by johu »

You need a jumper across PROG and GND. Also the STM32 mustn't be programmed or must be held in reset. Otherwise it blocks the uart
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

Yes, I did all that, but unfortunately it doesn't work either. I also measured the voltage at the pins, it is 3.28 volts
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

I measured the pins and got values like this,

3V3 Pin 3.281
EN Pin 3.280
IO0 Pin 3.180
TX Pin 3.68
RX Pin 0.0
5V Pin 5.3

The values are the same for both PCB´s
is that Ok ??
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5791
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1025 times
Contact:

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by johu »

So that's with the jumper removed? TX=3.68V is that a typo?
With jumper IO0 must be 0V
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

yes, my mistake, IO0 is 0.08v, but TX has 3.6v no matter whether with jumper or without jumper

I took further measurements
on a bare board with no components, Rx has GND that goes to pin PB11 on the STM32
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

I found something, there is a bridge between the TX and RX pins on IC6, now I can flash the chip, but I don't see any WiFi
2017_0124_201159_001.JPG
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5791
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1025 times
Contact:

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by johu »

oh that's evil routing. So jumper is removed, IO0=3.3V and no wifi?
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

first pcb i have IO0=0.5V ??
the second one 3.2v
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5791
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1025 times
Contact:

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by johu »

And the second one works now? Be more verbose so I (we) have to ask less
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

no, it´s the same, no wifi, my english is so bad, sorry
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5791
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1025 times
Contact:

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by johu »

Just thought of something: have you connected an antenna to the module?
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

Yes, the antenna is connected, I put up a test sketch to receive wifi, reception works, just not sending, the module may be defective
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

Hi, the module wasn't defective after all, now the wifi is also displayed, but I can only call up the wifi setting, it doesn't find all other files like index.html, I used the following, what could be the reason, and uploaded them I use platformio
The only thing I changed is the IP address, from
Screenshot (214).png
to
Screenshot (213).png
i used this repo, https://github.com/Bedz01/esp32-web-interface-port
royhen99
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2022 4:23 am
Location: N. Wiltshire. UK
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 101 times

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by royhen99 »

That version does not work fully. Use this one https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

royhen99 wrote: Wed Feb 21, 2024 5:58 pm That version does not work fully. Use this one https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface
that didn't work for me, no wifi
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

I have an ESP32-WROOM-32U-N8, could that be the problem??
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

I have now ordered new ones with the updated layout, but still the same as before, no wifi, I uploaded the unchanged code from https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface,
what is going wrong here?
20240226_102128.jpg
but with this https://github.com/Bedz01/esp32-web-interface-port, i have wifi, but the web interface doesn't work
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5791
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1025 times
Contact:

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by johu »

one difference between the two firmwares are these lines
WiFi.setSleep(false);
WiFi.setTxPower(WIFI_POWER_19_5dBm);//25); //dbm

Try removing them. Don't know why it should work on one module but not on another but you have to start digging somewhere
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 91 times
Been thanked: 413 times

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by uhi22 »

Providing a wifi access point is a common task for an ESP32, so with using the proven-in-use software not much can go wrong. You could even try some of the example projects included in the Arduino IDE. (I only can speak for Arduino IDE, because I'm using this. I'm not familiar with Platformio.)
Two ideas: Power supply issue. Usually the ESPs tend to crash if the power supply is not sufficient, in terms of resistance and capacitance. And: Maybe a wrong controller type or memory partition scheme selected.
The serial monitor could give some hints.

[Edit] Ah, and one more: Are there differences between the CAN and the serial branch? I only use the CAN branch, so no idea about the other.
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5791
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1025 times
Contact:

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by johu »

Concerning wifi there shouldn't be a difference
yes power supply is always a likely culprit but it should affect the other firmware just as well
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 91 times
Been thanked: 413 times

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by uhi22 »

Well, more transmit power (setTxPower) requires more supply current and could lead to crash if the circuit is not able to provide high peak current.
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

Unfortunately it doesn't work either
Screenshot (225).png
i have testit on a programmer, but the same
20240227_113539.jpg
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 601
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 91 times
Been thanked: 413 times

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by uhi22 »

What does the console output tell?
User avatar
medo
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2023 9:32 pm
Location: Germany
Has thanked: 1 time

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Post by medo »

that looks all good
Screenshot (229).png
Screenshot (227).png
Screenshot (228).png
Post Reply