Page 1 of 2

what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Fri Feb 09, 2024 11:57 pm
by medo
Hello, I soldered the V6 together myself just to learn, but I just can't flash the ESP32, TX to TX and RX to RX are connected, I also tested 2 different programmers, but nothing, what am I doing wrong ??? I also soldered 2 because I suspected I was using the wrong components, but same with the same result
20240210_004042.jpg
20240210_004025.jpg
20240210_003957.jpg
Screenshot (190).png

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 9:24 am
by johu
You need a jumper across PROG and GND. Also the STM32 mustn't be programmed or must be held in reset. Otherwise it blocks the uart

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:58 am
by medo
Yes, I did all that, but unfortunately it doesn't work either. I also measured the voltage at the pins, it is 3.28 volts

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 7:47 pm
by medo
I measured the pins and got values like this,

3V3 Pin 3.281
EN Pin 3.280
IO0 Pin 3.180
TX Pin 3.68
RX Pin 0.0
5V Pin 5.3

The values are the same for both PCB´s
is that Ok ??

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 7:57 pm
by johu
So that's with the jumper removed? TX=3.68V is that a typo?
With jumper IO0 must be 0V

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2024 9:05 pm
by medo
yes, my mistake, IO0 is 0.08v, but TX has 3.6v no matter whether with jumper or without jumper

I took further measurements
on a bare board with no components, Rx has GND that goes to pin PB11 on the STM32

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 4:56 pm
by medo
I found something, there is a bridge between the TX and RX pins on IC6, now I can flash the chip, but I don't see any WiFi
2017_0124_201159_001.JPG

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:09 pm
by johu
oh that's evil routing. So jumper is removed, IO0=3.3V and no wifi?

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:17 pm
by medo
first pcb i have IO0=0.5V ??
the second one 3.2v

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:35 pm
by johu
And the second one works now? Be more verbose so I (we) have to ask less

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:38 pm
by medo
no, it´s the same, no wifi, my english is so bad, sorry

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2024 4:49 pm
by johu
Just thought of something: have you connected an antenna to the module?

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2024 7:09 pm
by medo
Yes, the antenna is connected, I put up a test sketch to receive wifi, reception works, just not sending, the module may be defective

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2024 5:46 pm
by medo
Hi, the module wasn't defective after all, now the wifi is also displayed, but I can only call up the wifi setting, it doesn't find all other files like index.html, I used the following, what could be the reason, and uploaded them I use platformio
The only thing I changed is the IP address, from
Screenshot (214).png
to
Screenshot (213).png
i used this repo, https://github.com/Bedz01/esp32-web-interface-port

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2024 5:58 pm
by royhen99
That version does not work fully. Use this one https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Wed Feb 21, 2024 6:09 pm
by medo
royhen99 wrote: Wed Feb 21, 2024 5:58 pm That version does not work fully. Use this one https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface
that didn't work for me, no wifi

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Fri Feb 23, 2024 1:12 pm
by medo
I have an ESP32-WROOM-32U-N8, could that be the problem??

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2024 9:30 am
by medo
I have now ordered new ones with the updated layout, but still the same as before, no wifi, I uploaded the unchanged code from https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface,
what is going wrong here?
20240226_102128.jpg
but with this https://github.com/Bedz01/esp32-web-interface-port, i have wifi, but the web interface doesn't work

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2024 10:46 pm
by johu
one difference between the two firmwares are these lines
WiFi.setSleep(false);
WiFi.setTxPower(WIFI_POWER_19_5dBm);//25); //dbm

Try removing them. Don't know why it should work on one module but not on another but you have to start digging somewhere

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 7:28 am
by uhi22
Providing a wifi access point is a common task for an ESP32, so with using the proven-in-use software not much can go wrong. You could even try some of the example projects included in the Arduino IDE. (I only can speak for Arduino IDE, because I'm using this. I'm not familiar with Platformio.)
Two ideas: Power supply issue. Usually the ESPs tend to crash if the power supply is not sufficient, in terms of resistance and capacitance. And: Maybe a wrong controller type or memory partition scheme selected.
The serial monitor could give some hints.

[Edit] Ah, and one more: Are there differences between the CAN and the serial branch? I only use the CAN branch, so no idea about the other.

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 9:20 am
by johu
Concerning wifi there shouldn't be a difference
yes power supply is always a likely culprit but it should affect the other firmware just as well

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 9:58 am
by uhi22
Well, more transmit power (setTxPower) requires more supply current and could lead to crash if the circuit is not able to provide high peak current.

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 10:26 am
by medo
Unfortunately it doesn't work either
Screenshot (225).png
i have testit on a programmer, but the same
20240227_113539.jpg

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 10:31 am
by uhi22
What does the console output tell?

Re: what am I doing wrong ??? ESP32 flashing

Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 10:40 am
by medo
that looks all good
Screenshot (229).png
Screenshot (227).png
Screenshot (228).png