GS450h without external oil pump

Topics concerning the Toyota and Lexus inverter drop in boards
nino500

GS450h without external oil pump

Post by nino500 »

Hi, I'm looking seriously at the GS450h for a next project
(currently working on something which uses all drive components from same source for simplicity).

The GS450h looks ideal for a RWD car BUT could some added complexities be taken out?
If the PSD is locked, then the internal pump would run as long as the vehicle is in motion. Then there only remains the issue of pressure to engage one of the 2 spd auto gears. So, if the output ratio is mechanically locked in high, the high pressure is no longer required to engage the clutches and the oil is only required to circulate for lubrication/cooling.

Further to that, could several components of the hydraulic servos/clutches be removed and discarded to save weight?

Newbie here so please excuse any protocol breaches :)
Jacobsmess

Re: GS450h without external oil pump

Post by Jacobsmess »

Sounds like you might be best served using the IS300H/GS300H transmission
celeron55

Post by celeron55 »

I don't think you necessarily have to lock the output gears. As long as the PSD is locked, just make sure to ramp the torque slowly from standstill to let the oil pump engage the clutches without too much heat from slippage. Some kind of special software limit would be a good idea.

Or, of course, you could just lock the output gears.

I do agree the GS450H transmission does have better gearing for common diff ratios due to its high gear, and the oil pump seems like an uncomfortable weakest link. Personally, I simply got and installed said pump, though. The aging inverter is probably the second weakest link.
nino500

Post by nino500 »

Jacobsmess wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 1:45 pm Sounds like you might be best served using the IS300H/GS300H transmission