Simplest way to bench test Outlander stack?

Scrappyjoe

Simplest way to bench test Outlander stack?

Post by Scrappyjoe »

Hello.

I am just getting started with converting a vehicle to EV, using an Outlander rear drive unit and inverter. My shipment of goodies, which includes the Outlander stack, also comes with a configured Openinverter board, a Volvo Eltec charger, Tesla DC-DC converter, and a few peripherals.

Following along with the forum advice, it seems step 1, before pulling bits off a vehicle or buying batteries, is to set everything up on a bench and get things turning.

Now I am in a bit of a quandary. I am unsure how I should power the HV side of the motor for my bench testing. It's important to note that, from what I can see by combing the forums, I need at least 200V DC in order to get an Outlander motor and inverter to work.

Options I can think of:

1. Get 60 18650 lithium cells, wire them in series, and connect each end to the inverter (will be a PITA to recharge)
2. Get some sort of AC to DC converter and plug it into the mains and then plug the DC end into the inverter

What does everyone else do?

Constraints -

1. I'm in South Africa, so salvage EV batteries are hard to come by.
2. Similarly, I can't buy quickly from eBay etc, but I can take links to products and then try find analogues in SA.

Any general guidance (i.e you really should watch X YouTube video before proceeding) much appreciated. I've spent about 2 years reading about this stuff, but am still very much a novice.
bigmotherwhale

Re: Simplest way to bench test Outlander stack?

Post by bigmotherwhale »

If you can turn off regen, using a variac and a rectifier to supply the HV bus is an option, you could also probably use the Eltek as a PSU as long as you dont draw too much current, again absolutely no regen or things will certainly explode.
Scrappyjoe

Post by Scrappyjoe »