Auris Gen 3 Inverter with 620V batterie (Zebra)

DonKarlos

Auris Gen 3 Inverter with 620V batterie (Zebra)

Post by DonKarlos »

Hi,
my name is Karl and I am completly new to this! I'm an automotive Engineer with 30plus years of experience with ICEs :-)/(. Now I started my EV journey with a little Gem. It is a Audi A2 Prototype from a company in Germany which was converted 13 Years ago with a synchronous 50Kw Motor and a Control techniques SP43.. industrial Inverter. The complete coversion is a part of automotive history and meanwhile shacked down well . The Inverter and the none automotive cableing are showing severe signs of wear and Problems occure meanwhile on a daily basis.
I would like to exchange the industrial inverter (I have a good use for it in a Haas CNC Milling Machine :-)) against a current automotive one. I'm focussing on this beautifull Open-Inverter Project!
Since the current system has a well working Zebra Z37 Battery I would like to keep using it. BUT! It is a 620V/ 38 Ah Salt Battery... Now, after reading for only a few days I have a question regarding the Inverter Voltage. I hope that I understand correctly, that the Prius Gen 3 Inverter can handle up to 650 V after the boost converter with a 200+ V Batterie of a Prius attached before the converter. Can I connect a 620V Battery to this kind of Inverter? And what changes would have to be made to the Inverter if possible.
I will post some pcs soon.
Thanks
Karl
Bigpie

Re: Auris Gen 3 Inverter with 620V batterie (Zebra)

Post by Bigpie »

If you connect as shown in the wiki, this by-passes the boost converter ( You can use it in reverse as a buck converter to get your 620V down to 200 ish for the DCDC). The main cap of the Prius inverter is rated at 650V. Start a project thread with your progress and photos :D
VW Beetle 2003
Outlander front generator
Prius Gen 3 inverter (EVBMW logic board)
Outlander charger
3x Golf GTE batteries
Chademo Charging
Outlander water heater
rstevens81