Large drive unit board, charger board and orion BMS

Topics concerning the Tesla front and rear drive unit drop-in board
Joxson

Large drive unit board, charger board and orion BMS

Post by Joxson »

Hi!

Im new here and I have some questions.
Im sitting with a P90D rear DU, my plan is to use the board for it! And that part is clear :) But my question is regarding the charger, I saw that the charging board was capable of hadling supercharge(and thats what Im going for). What socket do I choose for the charger, do I have to use tesla socket? Is the tesla charger capable of charging a BMW I3 battery pack?
Also, can the charger and the orion BMS talk to eachother?
Sorry for newbie questions but Im a newbie ;)

Im getting all the parts for my EV conversion of my Nissan 350z right now :D

Best Regards!
Joachim Westerlund from Sweden :)
Best Regards
Joachim Westerlund :)
arber333

Re: Large drive unit board, charger board and orion BMS

Post by arber333 »

Joxson wrote: Tue Oct 22, 2019 6:42 am Hi!

Im new here and I have some questions.
Im sitting with a P90D rear DU, my plan is to use the board for it! And that part is clear :) But my question is regarding the charger, I saw that the charging board was capable of hadling supercharge(and thats what Im going for). What socket do I choose for the charger, do I have to use tesla socket? Is the tesla charger capable of charging a BMW I3 battery pack?
Also, can the charger and the orion BMS talk to eachother?
Sorry for newbie questions but Im a newbie ;)

Im getting all the parts for my EV conversion of my Nissan 350z right now :D

Best Regards!
Joachim Westerlund from Sweden :)
Hm...
I think supercharging is proprietary. Tesla car is sending some identifier to supercharging station for it to operate. If you use ID from broken car you may be stuck with cable locked in station. Its been a long time since i researched that, i may be mistaken.
Kevin Sharpe

Post by Kevin Sharpe »