Unable to get Wifi interface working (Olimex-MOD-WIFI-ESP8266)

Post Reply
okashira
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:45 pm

Unable to get Wifi interface working (Olimex-MOD-WIFI-ESP8266)

Post by okashira »

Hi all.
I have a tesla Small DU board Ive soldered up myself and im trying to get the Olimix board working.
Ive flashed the STM32 just fine with ST-LINK, that is not a problem so far.

To flash the the Olimex board (ive tried 4 of them) I follow this process:
Solder GPIO 0 to the "flash setting)

1. Connect the Olimex using an FTDI USB to TTL adaptor. COM2 115200 baud. This connects fine in Arduino. 3.3V power.

2. I setup arduino IDE 1.8.0 with https://github.com/esp8266/arduino-esp8266fs-plugin and https://arduino.esp8266.com/stable/pack ... index.json

3. I setup the arduino sketch directory with the "FSBrowser directory, and make a data directory inside and copy the relevant files:
(the arduino sketch directory also has the tools folder for the file system thing)
Image

4. Install ESP8266 library needed in Arduino

5. Select Olimex board in Arduino with these settings:
Image

6. Build and flash FSBrowser

7. Wait 10 seconds then depower Olimex board, wait 10 seconds and repower

8. Run Tools---> ESP8266 Sketch Data Upload.

***both flashing go perfectly according to the logs.***

Code: Select all

WARNING: Category 'Network' in library lwIP_PPP is not valid. Setting to 'Uncategorized'
WARNING: Category 'Network' in library lwIP_enc28j60 is not valid. Setting to 'Uncategorized'
WARNING: Category 'Network' in library lwIP_w5500 is not valid. Setting to 'Uncategorized'
WARNING: Category 'Network' in library lwIP_w5500 is not valid. Setting to 'Uncategorized'
Executable segment sizes:


ICACHE : 32768           - flash instruction cache 


IROM   : 351792          - code in flash         (default or ICACHE_FLASH_ATTR) 


IRAM   : 27905   / 32768 - code in IRAM          (IRAM_ATTR, ISRs...) 


DATA   : 1512  )         - initialized variables (global, static) in RAM/HEAP 


RODATA : 3940  ) / 81920 - constants             (global, static) in RAM/HEAP 


BSS    : 26488 )         - zeroed variables      (global, static) in RAM/HEAP 


Sketch uses 385149 bytes (36%) of program storage space. Maximum is 1044464 bytes.
Global variables use 31940 bytes (38%) of dynamic memory, leaving 49980 bytes for local variables. Maximum is 81920 bytes.
esptool.py v3.0
Serial port COM2
Connecting....
Chip is ESP8266EX
Features: WiFi
Crystal is 26MHz
MAC: bc:dd:c2:03:f7:f4
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 2MB
Compressed 389296 bytes to 277859...
Writing at 0x00000000... (5 %)
Writing at 0x00004000... (11 %)
Writing at 0x00008000... (17 %)
Writing at 0x0000c000... (23 %)
Writing at 0x00010000... (29 %)
Writing at 0x00014000... (35 %)
Writing at 0x00018000... (41 %)
Writing at 0x0001c000... (47 %)
Writing at 0x00020000... (52 %)
Writing at 0x00024000... (58 %)
Writing at 0x00028000... (64 %)
Writing at 0x0002c000... (70 %)
Writing at 0x00030000... (76 %)
Writing at 0x00034000... (82 %)
Writing at 0x00038000... (88 %)
Writing at 0x0003c000... (94 %)
Writing at 0x00040000... (100 %)
Wrote 389296 bytes (277859 compressed) at 0x00000000 in 24.7 seconds (effective 126.1 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 16384 bytes to 39...
Writing at 0x001fc000... (100 %)
Wrote 16384 bytes (39 compressed) at 0x001fc000 in 0.0 seconds (effective 8721.4 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

Leaving...
Soft resetting...
[SPIFFS] data    : C:\Users\j\OneDrive\!Arduino\FSBrowser\data
[SPIFFS] size    : 1000
[SPIFFS] page    : 256
[SPIFFS] block   : 8192
/ajax-loader.gif

/chart.min.js.gz

/chartjs-annotation.min.js.gz

/gauge.min.js.gz

/gauges.html

/gauges.js

/index.html

/index.js

/inverter.js

/jquery.core.min.js.gz

/jquery.knob.min.js.gz

/log.html

/log.js

/README.md

/refresh.png

/remote.html

/style.css

/syncofs.html

/wifi-updated.html

/wifi.html

[SPIFFS] upload  : C:\Users\j\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_311196/FSBrowser.spiffs.bin
[SPIFFS] address  : 0x100000
[SPIFFS] reset    : --before no_reset --after soft_reset
[SPIFFS] port     : COM2
[SPIFFS] speed    : 115200
[SPIFFS] python   : C:\Users\j\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp8266\tools\python3\3.7.2-post1\python3.exe
[SPIFFS] uploader : C:\Users\j\AppData\Local\Arduino15\packages\esp8266\hardware\esp8266\3.0.1\tools\upload.py

esptool.py v3.0

Serial port COM2

Connecting....

Chip is ESP8266EX

Features: WiFi

Crystal is 26MHz

MAC: bc:dd:c2:03:f7:f4

Uploading stub...

Running stub...

Stub running...

Configuring flash size...

Auto-detected Flash size: 2MB

Compressed 1024000 bytes to 118009...

Writing at 0x00100000... (12 %)

Writing at 0x00104000... (25 %)

Writing at 0x00108000... (37 %)

Writing at 0x0010c000... (50 %)

Writing at 0x00110000... (62 %)

Writing at 0x00114000... (75 %)

Writing at 0x00118000... (87 %)

Writing at 0x0011c000... (100 %)

Wrote 1024000 bytes (118009 compressed) at 0x00100000 in 10.6 seconds (effective 773.3 kbit/s)...

Hash of data verified.



Leaving...

Hard resetting via RTS pin...

9. depower and solder GPIO0 back to default

10. Plug into The Tesla SMALL DU board and search for Wifi.

A wifi network of ESP-03F7F4 appears with no password. I am able to connect. But nothing is there.
----The network name is not "Inverter" like everyone says it should be
----There is no password on the network
----192.168.1.4 does not exist.

here are the network i get when I connect:
Image



has anyone been able to flash Heubners web interface to an Olimex board before and get it working? what am I doing wrong?
User avatar
bexander
Posts: 555
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:00 pm
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Unable to get Wifi interface working (Olimex-MOD-WIFI-ESP8266)

Post by bexander »

Maybe this will help you, specifically #10:
viewtopic.php?p=5048#p5048
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3549
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Unable to get Wifi interface working (Olimex-MOD-WIFI-ESP8266)

Post by johu »

okashira wrote: Tue Jun 29, 2021 12:41 am A wifi network of ESP-03F7F4 appears with no password. I am able to connect. But nothing is there.
----The network name is not "Inverter" like everyone says it should be
----There is no password on the network
----192.168.1.4 does not exist.
Well done on the flashing but some misconceptions:
- The network name is not statically defined in code but saved in a special flash area. It defaults to what you state
- Password: same
- It's http://192.168.4.1
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
okashira
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2019 8:45 pm

Re: Unable to get Wifi interface working (Olimex-MOD-WIFI-ESP8266)

Post by okashira »

johu wrote: Tue Jun 29, 2021 12:21 pm
okashira wrote: Tue Jun 29, 2021 12:41 am A wifi network of ESP-03F7F4 appears with no password. I am able to connect. But nothing is there.
----The network name is not "Inverter" like everyone says it should be
----There is no password on the network
----192.168.1.4 does not exist.
Well done on the flashing but some misconceptions:
- The network name is not statically defined in code but saved in a special flash area. It defaults to what you state
- Password: same
- It's http://192.168.4.1
Thank you for the reply. Sorry for the typo. 192.168.4.1 was also unreachable.
I was able to get a connection. I had to force some TCP-IP settings as follows:
Image

It's unfortunate because it means I have to change tcp settings over and over if I switch between internet and the ESP. I don't know how to connect on cell phone.
The other web interfaces do allow for 192.168.4.1 with autoconfig DHCP (i flashed These two and they "worked" (except I had lots of parameter issues))
https://github.com/damienmaguire/ESP8266-WiFi-Interface
https://github.com/dimecho/Open-Inverter-WebInterface

Is there a way to get DHCP to work properly?

Thank you!
User avatar
EV_Builder
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 3:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Unable to get Wifi interface working (Olimex-MOD-WIFI-ESP8266)

Post by EV_Builder »

gateway shouldn't be filled with the device IP adress if you do that the device will be forwarded with all network traffic not being for your subnet (that in essence is what a gateway provides. Acces to IP's out of your subnet.

So leave it empty or fill in another number i would say. If the subnet and the IP adress are within the same range communication is already possible.
Leave the gateway configured only on your internet interface.
User avatar
EV_Builder
Posts: 799
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 3:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Unable to get Wifi interface working (Olimex-MOD-WIFI-ESP8266)

Post by EV_Builder »

okashira wrote: Tue Jun 29, 2021 8:47 pm
johu wrote: Tue Jun 29, 2021 12:21 pm
okashira wrote: Tue Jun 29, 2021 12:41 am A wifi network of ESP-03F7F4 appears with no password. I am able to connect. But nothing is there.
----The network name is not "Inverter" like everyone says it should be
----There is no password on the network
----192.168.1.4 does not exist.
Well done on the flashing but some misconceptions:
- The network name is not statically defined in code but saved in a special flash area. It defaults to what you state
- Password: same
- It's http://192.168.4.1
Thank you for the reply. Sorry for the typo. 192.168.4.1 was also unreachable.
I was able to get a connection. I had to force some TCP-IP settings as follows:
Image

It's unfortunate because it means I have to change tcp settings over and over if I switch between internet and the ESP. I don't know how to connect on cell phone.
The other web interfaces do allow for 192.168.4.1 with autoconfig DHCP (i flashed These two and they "worked" (except I had lots of parameter issues))
https://github.com/damienmaguire/ESP8266-WiFi-Interface
https://github.com/dimecho/Open-Inverter-WebInterface

Is there a way to get DHCP to work properly?

Thank you!
You can configure the interface for 2 static IP addresses - check advanced button- one which you already received from the DHCP server and one with a subnet for this WiFi module. I assume that you are on a laptop.
Post Reply