Web interface improvements

Discussion about various user interfaces such as web interface, displays and apps
chrskly

Web interface improvements

Post by chrskly »

Hi all,

I've been poking around with the html/css/js in an attempt to try and make some improvements to the web interface. I'm by no means a designer, but I do have some familiarity with web technologies.

The general idea is, menu on the left, content in the middle, and context-specific actions on the right. It's still essentially a one page site with some js for the dynamic parts, so, under the hood it hasn't really changed.

This is very much a work in progress, but I wanted to get some feedback from people to see what they think. Is this something that people would be interested in? I'm not married to the green by the way, it's more about grouping things together and trying to make the interface a bit more friendly and understandable.

One thing I was wondering about, for example, was adding more context-specific help. For example, some help text on the parameters page explaining what each parameter was for. Not sure where just yet though :)

I started out by making changes and uploading files to my inverter, but that got a bit tedious. So, I created a little docker image to allow me to work on the web interface locally on my laptop. It also mocks some of the responses from the inverter, the /cmd calls, so that things like params are populated when developing. The mocks responses could be extended and improved a bit. It's using a little python app, but it could actually just be done with nginx instead to keep it simple.

I sometimes see people on the forum using their phone to access their inverters, so, making it work well on a small screen would be on the to do list as well.

Anyway, any and all feedback welcome.

I'm working on a fork here : https://github.com/chrskly/esp8266-web- ... /ui-rework
dashboard.png
update.png
parameters.png
spotvalues.png
plot.png
datalogger.png
Isaac96