E90 EPS (Active Steering Rack integration)

vin

E90 EPS (Active Steering Rack integration)

Post by vin »

Hi all,

So I'm in the process of understanding how to Integrate the active steering rack on the BMW E90 Into my conversion project, and will update It as I go along. Please feel free to add any additional information that you may have so we can get this going.

I have a 7802277625 EPS which appears to come to life when I started to drive the car, around 5 miles pre hour But completely useless at the lower speeds. You can imagine the fun parking that thing :roll: Anyways, upon attempting to manually control EPS, I noticed to five wires in total connected to it.

Large Red - 12V+
Large Brown - Ground
small Red - Maybe CAN
small Red and Blue - Maybe CAN
small Green and Red - ???? Feedback

First I thought of hacking into the eps manually and forcing It on via a relay, However that seemed a bit barbaric, and CAN It Seems to be the way forward.

Unfortunately I have no experience with CAN but I understand the idea of the communication technology. From what I can understand, I need to send a signal, equivalent to the engine starting, over the CAN BUS, To trick the system into thinking that there is still an engine.

After coming back to the forum today, I received an email from @Dilbert and @john Pretty much confirming my suspicion. So it seems I will be learning CAN

More on that later

Any help would be appreciated in advanced :)

Thanks
Vin
Isaac96

Re: E90 EPS (Active Steering Rack integration)

Post by Isaac96 »

You say it comes alive when you hit 5mph.

So hook up a CAN logger to the EPS wires. This is usually a piece of hardware (CAN-Due for example) connected to a laptop running suitable software (savvyCAN is a good one).

Drive 10mph or so and record some CAN (get someone to help you of course). A few seconds should be plenty.

Disconnect the EPS CAN wires from the rest of the car and play your recording back to the EPS. This should bring it to life!