Simp BMS

Topics concerning OEM and open source BMSes
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

joromy wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2020 1:31 am What does "8 – Max Discharge = maximum discharge current in A" in battery settings do?
Give an error?
Set a output high/low?
It just sends it out on the canbus for now, it is used in Stationary applications for example victron systems.

Can easily add code to give an error, on canbus as i am out of outputs, when exceeded for 'x' amount of time.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Some good news today, looks like I now have all the information to control BMW I3 modules.

Had some help from a guy with a couple of modules,as i do not have access to one. Now its just up to me to write some new code, ofcourse BMW do it different to anybody else so far, to control the balancing.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

That is great news.
It's a impressive list of battery types supported already....
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
User avatar
langoo
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu May 09, 2019 6:27 pm
Location: Varberg, Sweden

Re: Simp BMS

Post by langoo »

Hello Tom

Any updates done to the documentation of the settings in the serial console? I know we emailed to each other regarding some lacking of documentation when I installed your BMS last year. Some sort of flow chart diagram of how the BMS works with it's different settings would help newcomers to this EV-world ;) for me, such diagram or explanation would help me understand how you have thought when you programmed it.

Any news about the next generation of Simp-BMS?
Robin Hellström
MR Electronics AB
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

I have expanded on various topics, but yes it would be good to have a few flow diagrams of what does what.

Next generation is being designed, it is a little slow due to the lack of time.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

I was thinking to put the CAB current sensor together with the NEG contactor output (OUT4) to save 12V standby power draw.
The output is fully capable to handle the current (according to spec sheet)
The current sensor is not needed when HV power is off.

But is this safe? I think the back EMF from the contactor could be a problem.
The contactor has built-in coil suppression, coil back EM is 55V according to spec sheet.
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

joromy wrote: Fri Jan 24, 2020 6:37 pm But is this safe? I think the back EMF from the contactor could be a problem.
The contactor has built-in coil suppression, coil back EM is 55V according to spec sheet.
After reading horror stories about back EMF I decided to have them on separate output, even if there is suppression circuits
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
User avatar
Bratitude
Posts: 784
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:35 pm
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 176 times
Contact:

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Bratitude »

Trying to compile the voltbmsv2 code.


Installed all the library’s.
I’m getting a bunch of errors such as:
‘Class ADC’ has no member named ‘setAveraging’ , ‘setresolution’, etc

Did I install ADC wrong?

If (RCM_SRS1 & RCM_SRS1_SACKERR) Serial.println(“stop mode acknowledge error reset”)

Throws: ‘RCM_SR1’ was not declared in this scope

Gone threw bunch of the library docs, and reinstalled and reset. Still the same
https://bratindustries.net/ leaf motor couplers, adapter plates, custom drive train components
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Bratitude wrote: Tue Feb 04, 2020 2:47 am Trying to compile the voltbmsv2 code.


Installed all the library’s.
I’m getting a bunch of errors such as:
‘Class ADC’ has no member named ‘setAveraging’ , ‘setresolution’, etc

Did I install ADC wrong?

If (RCM_SRS1 & RCM_SRS1_SACKERR) Serial.println(“stop mode acknowledge error reset”)

Throws: ‘RCM_SR1’ was not declared in this scope

Gone threw bunch of the library docs, and reinstalled and reset. Still the same
Did you install all the required teensy addons for Arduino.

This thread really is not about getting the Arduino code compiled and more on the functions of the software.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

Hi Tom.
If you are doing some changes/updates on the Simp BMS software, could you consider to include a "daily driver" "long range" charge.

Now I lower the full charge voltage, that works to, but then it jumps up to 100% at the end....

Either two voltage settings or two soc settings?
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
User avatar
Mouse
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:17 am
Location: Wales
Been thanked: 7 times
Contact:

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Mouse »

Good news about the I3 battery progress.
tom91 wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2020 9:23 pm Had some help from a guy with a couple of modules,as i do not have access to one.
I've just got a complete i3 battery and am just over the bridge in Newport if you need to physically try it out on a different battery pack.
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Mouse wrote: Sun Feb 23, 2020 1:10 pm Good news about the I3 battery progress.
tom91 wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2020 9:23 pm Had some help from a guy with a couple of modules,as i do not have access to one.
I've just got a complete i3 battery and am just over the bridge in Newport if you need to physically try it out on a different battery pack.
Thanks for the offer, a company that resells the BMS have offered bring me a module so I will not take you up on that right now.

Will have a look at providing multiple charging voltages. The Software currently reset to 100% at full charge to remove discrepancies from current additions.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
arber333
Posts: 3265
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:37 pm
Location: Slovenia
Has thanked: 80 times
Been thanked: 234 times
Contact:

Re: Simp BMS

Post by arber333 »

Hi Tom

I will soon get a Passat TSI hybrid battery for my Ampera range extender. How far is your BMS in using VW balancing commands? Is it now possible to balance VW cells using your device?

tnx
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

No the SimpBMS does not support VW balancing, I am afraid currently there is no path to getting working.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
tmotion
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 7:16 pm
Location: Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tmotion »

tom91 wrote: Sun Feb 23, 2020 2:04 pm
Mouse wrote: Sun Feb 23, 2020 1:10 pm Good news about the I3 battery progress.
tom91 wrote: Mon Jan 20, 2020 9:23 pm Had some help from a guy with a couple of modules,as i do not have access to one.
I've just got a complete i3 battery and am just over the bridge in Newport if you need to physically try it out on a different battery pack.
Thanks for the offer, a company that resells the BMS have offered bring me a module so I will not take you up on that right now.

Will have a look at providing multiple charging voltages. The Software currently reset to 100% at full charge to remove discrepancies from current additions.
Just to double check: will simpbms support the i3 pack? Or will this be done via an other (commercial) supplier, if so, who?

Thx!
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

The SimpBMS will support the BMW I3 modules yes, currently only missing balancing. Keep in mind it will only support one pack per BMS, and the original module slaves are required to function.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Balancing has been added and is working now.

Turns out the BMW I3 Slaves want to have a balance request arrive for 60seconds before they will actually listen.
However when you command them to stop balancing they do it instantly. Wierd logic but made it work.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
tmotion
Posts: 55
Joined: Fri Sep 27, 2019 7:16 pm
Location: Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tmotion »

Great news! Whats next? Tesla smart and I-pace modules?
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

tmotion wrote: Sun Apr 12, 2020 6:33 pm Great news! Whats next? Tesla smart and I-pace modules?
No and No. Tesla Smart is a really small volume and not readily available. Ipace possibly I do have some of the slaves but not done alot with them yet.

Next is a redesign of the hardware, more canbusses for more parallel packs.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
mdrobnak
Posts: 692
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by mdrobnak »

Is it possible to use the Volt BMS slaves with the LG Chem / Chrysler Pacifica batteries? They are 16 series cells, none in parallel. That would certainly cut total acquisition costs on those if so...
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

mdrobnak wrote: Wed Apr 15, 2020 10:46 pm Is it possible to use the Volt BMS slaves with the LG Chem / Chrysler Pacifica batteries? They are 16 series cells, none in parallel. That would certainly cut total acquisition costs on those if so...
You can wire any slave to any battery, just as long as the chemistry and cell count matches.

always some exceptions on this rule, you can wire some slaves with less cells if you tie the unused ones to the highest cell (tested on Outlander and Tesla Slaves.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
mdrobnak
Posts: 692
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by mdrobnak »

NMC-LMO pouch is what Gen 1 Volt says
Thunderstruk EV lists the Pacifica battery as "Chemistry: Nickel Manganese Cobalt (NMC)" so that looks like a yes there.

Downside is if I want a system with 600V I'm still stuck buying the Orion. (Simp BMS definitely works on the setup I want to use a Chevy Volt battery as-is of course).

-Matt
User avatar
mdrobnak
Posts: 692
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2020 5:08 pm
Location: Colorado, United States
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by mdrobnak »

Another stupid question: if the conflicting module ID issue can be worked around, can simp support more than 96 cells? If so, Simp + customized firmware + can interposer to modify IDs is still way, way, way less expensive than other options.
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

No need for a custom firmware, I can roll it into existing firmware. Have done so in the past with the Outlander Slaves.

On a Tesla system I would say up to 32 slaves of 6 cells each should work if the communication is robust enough.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
Bratitude
Posts: 784
Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2020 7:35 pm
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 58 times
Been thanked: 176 times
Contact:

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Bratitude »

*Irrelevant post. * Deleted
https://bratindustries.net/ leaf motor couplers, adapter plates, custom drive train components
Post Reply