Simp BMS

Topics concerning OEM and open source BMSes
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Can reduce the deadzone.

This is what it is, so 500mA.

Code: Select all

if (currentact > 500 || currentact < -500 )
    {
      ampsecond = ampsecond + ((currentact * (millis() - lasttime) / 1000) / 1000);
      lasttime = millis();
    }
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

Have not had time to check into the programming bit.
Have ordered a teensy and will do some program testing.
Don't want to program the Simp BMS, and mess it up.

I'am using arduino IDE, is that good enough, or should I go for something else?
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

You can always just flash the original .HEX from the github back in using the Teensyloader.

All software is written via Arduino IDE.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

Anyone know hot to get a analog SOC gauge to work?
SOC.JPG
SOC.JPG (11.92 KiB) Viewed 7026 times
I'm connecting it to OUT8 (conn4 pin15) and to pin 4 on the SOC gauge.
When the SOC meter is unconnected, it show 50% (middle)

This is how it looks on paper:
SOC_gauge.JPG
The top of gauge is feed 12V (pin 11) and the bottom (pin 4) was connected to the old BMS.
I think the old output where open collector (LOW)

When connected to Simp BMS the PWM signal is getting lower (in volt) when pulse width increase.
Does this mean it is to weak to drive it?
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

No the Simp BMS gauge output is also a grounding signal, so higher PWM duty is a lower resulting voltage.

If you try lets say a low duty and a really high does the gauge move?
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

Yes it moves from under 0 to 50%, when I run the SOC gauge test.

If I connect it to 12V it goes over 100%, and under 0 if I connect to GND.
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Can you measure the resistances on that pin to ground and 12V.

Also can you use a power supply and vary the voltage to see if the gauges follows it?
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

I put in the original BMS, and did some scope saves with 0% OSC and 100% SOC:
SOC_0_duty_10.JPG
SOC_100_duty_75.JPG
This is how it looks with simp BMS:
SimpBMS_SOC_duty_40_10k_pullup.JPG
The SOC gauge will not go over 50% even with high duty...
Have I killed the output, or is this how it should look?
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

This does not look right, can you check it with just a simple 10K to 12V instead of the gauge?

I can run some tests myself, but I would need some information on what the load is of the gauge.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

The last scope save is with 10K pullup, and no gauge connected.
Will do some test on the bench and check the PWM from microcontroller.

Will the Simp BMS outputs work with only 12V power and no cell comm?
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Not really, I would have to modify some coding for testing then.
The only is a basic output debugger that just hard switches the outputs.

When the BMS is in error state it wont allow the closing of the contactors, thus the operation of the outputs beside the gauge one.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

Don't bother with that, there is more important coding that needs to be done :)
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

This is what a Gauge output looks like powering an LED with 550 ohm resistor.
SOC Gauge output.jpg
IMG_20191025_091419.jpg
So I would say something is wrong with your board, possibly damaged a mosfet.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
Johaljaswant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:35 pm
Location: USA

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Johaljaswant »

Can some one explain in detail how to download Editor on Nextion Display for SimpBMS.

Thanks
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Johaljaswant wrote: Fri Oct 25, 2019 2:13 pm Can some one explain in detail how to download Editor on Nextion Display for SimpBMS.

Thanks
https://nextion.tech/editor_guide/

Download files from here and open with nextion editor https://github.com/tomdebree/SimpDisplay
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
Johaljaswant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:35 pm
Location: USA

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Johaljaswant »

I connect Nextion display connect to computer with USB-TTL .but it did not show on computer ( nextion display )where I can download files to it. Either I am have not that much skill or something is wrong.
Please guide.

Thanks
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

It should work just fine, I just followed the instructions from Nextion. Please check your USB to TTL shows on com ports.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
Johaljaswant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:35 pm
Location: USA

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Johaljaswant »

Hello Tom91
In Nextion editor I try to download simpdisplay.
It say target device does not match selected device
NX3224T024_011 (set model)
NX3224K024_011 (device model)
Please let me know how I can load programme on this display.
Thanks
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Please learn how to use Nextion editor. The error is really simple.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
Johaljaswant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:35 pm
Location: USA

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Johaljaswant »

I tried hard.
Please let me know how I can change device from NX322T024_11 to NX322K024_11.
Thanks
Johaljaswant
Posts: 56
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2019 1:35 pm
Location: USA

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Johaljaswant »

Done
Thanks
CanadaLT28
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 12:55 am

Re: Simp BMS

Post by CanadaLT28 »

Tom, you were working on SimpBMS being able to control 2 Volt packs. Did you manage to get it done in purchaseable product?

Mike
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Just got the parts in to rig up some testing.

It will be in two steps; A V2.3 board with a Teensy 4.0 instead of a Teensy 3.2 with a small extra board. Should be ready end of this year/beginning next year.

Then later once I am happy a V3 board just for the Teensy 4.0. Scheduled end of Q1 2020 I would say.
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
User avatar
joromy
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:56 pm
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by joromy »

tom91 wrote: Fri Oct 25, 2019 9:02 am
So I would say something is wrong with your board, possibly damaged a mosfet.
Ref: PWM out to analog SOC gauge.

Will try to change the mosfet, what is part number?
Thomas A. Edison “I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work"
tom91
Posts: 1308
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 216 times

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

I would say please check the control signal first with the mosfet removed.

Mosfet Part number: IRF9956TRPBF
Founder Volt Influx https://www.voltinflux.com/
Webstore: https://citini.com/
Post Reply