Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post Reply
Corndoglover999
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2023 7:17 pm

Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by Corndoglover999 »

Hi, Been trying to fix this for days now and simply cannot figure this out. I am trying to program a new V6 board with the ESP32 Wi-Fi chip. I downloaded jsphuebner's esp32-web-interface from the github repository and followed instructions to flash via platformIO. Code builds & Uploads properly to the ESP32 Module through my serial adapter. However, when I power the board with 12v supply the ESP32 Module turns on and shows a network that I can connect to. I connect to it and try to access the web interface via https://192.168.4.1 and it simply won't open up the web interface. Only the power LED is displaying on board and the health LED is not flashing. I am pretty sure I am just missing something obvious here but for some reason cannot figure it out. Any help would be much appreciated, Thx.
PlatformIO Config File
PlatformIO Config File
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 341 times
Been thanked: 1484 times
Contact:

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by johu »

Not https
Have you programmed the stm32 as well?
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
Corndoglover999
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2023 7:17 pm

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by Corndoglover999 »

I have not programmed the stm32.
Corndoglover999
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2023 7:17 pm

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by Corndoglover999 »

Is there a guide on how to program stm32 & esp32 on the V6 Tesla LDU Board?
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 341 times
Been thanked: 1484 times
Contact:

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by johu »

viewtopic.php?t=6

I see some issues with the current state of esp32-web-interface. The version on my github is for CAN communication only, i.e. it won't work on a board. The version that does work was on Pete8008s github but he's deleted it. What a mess. Will try to fix this now.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 341 times
Been thanked: 1484 times
Contact:

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by johu »

Alright, now I have added the UART backend to my github as well: https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface

Read the readme file for programming instructions.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
FJ3422
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:55 am
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by FJ3422 »

Hi !
I have been trying for several hours to get a new ESP32 WROOM32 operational with the web interface, but cannot get it to work.
ESP32 Sketch data download OK (see screenshot)
ESP32 Sketch downloads OK. (see screenshot)

Code: Select all

[SPIFFS] start  : 2686976
[SPIFFS] size   : 1408
[SPIFFS] page   : 256
[SPIFFS] block  : 4096
/ajax-loader.gif
/chart.min.js.gz
/chartjs-annotation.min.js.gz
/docstrings.js
/gauge.min.js.gz
/gauges.html
/gauges.js
/icon-check-circle.png
/icon-trash.png
/icon-x-square.png
/index.html
/index.js
/inverter.js
/jquery.core.min.js.gz
/jquery.knob.min.js.gz
/log.html
/log.js
/logo.png
/modal.js
/plot.js
/refresh.png
/remote.html
/rtc.html
/sdcard.html
/style.css
/syncofs.html
/ui.js
/wifi-updated.html
/wifi.html
/wifi.js
[SPIFFS] upload : C:\Users\JV\AppData\Local\Temp\arduino_build_362678/esp32-web-interface.spiffs.bin
[SPIFFS] address: 2686976
[SPIFFS] port   : COM3
[SPIFFS] speed  : 921600
[SPIFFS] mode   : dio
[SPIFFS] freq   : 80m

esptool.py v4.5.1
Serial port COM3
Connecting.....
Chip is ESP32-D0WDQ6 (revision v1.1)
Features: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, 240MHz, VRef calibration in efuse, Coding Scheme None
Crystal is 40MHz
MAC: 08:b6:1f:99:30:88
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Changing baud rate to 921600
Changed.
Configuring flash size...
Auto-detected Flash size: 4MB
Flash will be erased from 0x00290000 to 0x003effff...
Compressed 1441792 bytes to 205349...
Writing at 0x00290000... (7 %)
Writing at 0x002981eb... (15 %)
Writing at 0x002a0495... (23 %)
Writing at 0x002a891e... (30 %)
Writing at 0x002b0e44... (38 %)
Writing at 0x002bbe7e... (46 %)
Writing at 0x002c530b... (53 %)
Writing at 0x002d746e... (61 %)
Writing at 0x002e5dbf... (69 %)
Writing at 0x002ee27c... (76 %)
Writing at 0x002f7fbe... (84 %)
Writing at 0x00302c9e... (92 %)
Writing at 0x0031ee7f... (100 %)
Wrote 1441792 bytes (205349 compressed) at 0x00290000 in 9.1 seconds (effective 1271.3 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

Leaving...
Hard resetting via RTS pin...

Code: Select all

esptool.py v4.5.1
Serial port COM3
Connecting.......
Chip is ESP32-D0WDQ6 (revision v1.1)
Features: WiFi, BT, Dual Core, 240MHz, VRef calibration in efuse, Coding Scheme None
Crystal is 40MHz
MAC: 08:b6:1f:99:30:88
Uploading stub...
Running stub...
Stub running...
Changing baud rate to 921600
Changed.
Configuring flash size...
Flash will be erased from 0x00001000 to 0x00005fff...
Flash will be erased from 0x00008000 to 0x00008fff...
Flash will be erased from 0x0000e000 to 0x0000ffff...
Flash will be erased from 0x00010000 to 0x000f9fff...
Compressed 18992 bytes to 13110...
Writing at 0x00001000... (100 %)
Wrote 18992 bytes (13110 compressed) at 0x00001000 in 0.5 seconds (effective 286.9 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 3072 bytes to 146...
Writing at 0x00008000... (100 %)
Wrote 3072 bytes (146 compressed) at 0x00008000 in 0.1 seconds (effective 315.9 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 8192 bytes to 47...
Writing at 0x0000e000... (100 %)
Wrote 8192 bytes (47 compressed) at 0x0000e000 in 0.2 seconds (effective 432.3 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.
Compressed 955808 bytes to 623763...
Writing at 0x00010000... (2 %)
Writing at 0x0001b691... (5 %)
Writing at 0x0002588f... (7 %)
Writing at 0x00033120... (10 %)
Writing at 0x0003aafa... (12 %)
Writing at 0x00040351... (15 %)
Writing at 0x00046524... (17 %)
Writing at 0x0004c4a5... (20 %)
Writing at 0x00051f3b... (23 %)
Writing at 0x00057784... (25 %)
Writing at 0x0005cc18... (28 %)
Writing at 0x00062447... (30 %)
Writing at 0x000676d6... (33 %)
Writing at 0x0006caab... (35 %)
Writing at 0x00071d6a... (38 %)
Writing at 0x0007708b... (41 %)
Writing at 0x0007c40f... (43 %)
Writing at 0x00081777... (46 %)
Writing at 0x00086924... (48 %)
Writing at 0x0008baa8... (51 %)
Writing at 0x00090bf7... (53 %)
Writing at 0x00096202... (56 %)
Writing at 0x0009b491... (58 %)
Writing at 0x000a107c... (61 %)
Writing at 0x000a6885... (64 %)
Writing at 0x000abd43... (66 %)
Writing at 0x000b1029... (69 %)
Writing at 0x000b6444... (71 %)
Writing at 0x000bba8d... (74 %)
Writing at 0x000c10cc... (76 %)
Writing at 0x000c6830... (79 %)
Writing at 0x000cc797... (82 %)
Writing at 0x000d2129... (84 %)
Writing at 0x000da86e... (87 %)
Writing at 0x000e3106... (89 %)
Writing at 0x000e8864... (92 %)
Writing at 0x000edff7... (94 %)
Writing at 0x000f3155... (97 %)
Writing at 0x000f8f2e... (100 %)
Wrote 955808 bytes (623763 compressed) at 0x00010000 in 10.0 seconds (effective 766.1 kbit/s)...
Hash of data verified.

Leaving...
Hard resetting via RTS pin...
After boot, it shows this in de serial monitor:
Screen Shot 05-29-24 at 02.18 PM.PNG
Right out of the box there was an Wifi-AP visible (unique ID, partial MAC?), after download nothing appears on the Wifi. Tried another ESP32 as well, same behaviour. Sketch used is the one referred to in de previous post of Johannes.

Further checked: Supply voltage is 3,32V and stable, pin3 (EN) goes delayed to '1' at boot (also tried some manual resets by shorting EN to GND).

Expecting to make some stupid mistake or forgetting something...
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 6618
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 341 times
Been thanked: 1484 times
Contact:

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by johu »

Have you only programmed the file system but not the firmware? (pio run - - target upload)
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
FJ3422
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:55 am
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by FJ3422 »

Earlier I did the programming with Arduino IDE 1.x. (FS / sketch). Just installed the python / platformio environment and got the "pio run --target upload" and "pio run --target uploadfs" to work. Both successfully download serial to the ESP32 (after editing the platformio-local-override.ini) but unfortunately the behaviour of the ESP32 is identical. No wifi and the serial monitor shows identical.

EDIT: Just tried uploading a random ESP32-webserver example project, that runs ! Console outputs, wifi comes available and webserver functions. Can it be that there is some file missing in the https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface project ?
User avatar
FJ3422
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:55 am
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by FJ3422 »

Did anyone else get the current version https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface running on an ESP32 (WROOM32 / Espressif) ? Tried two more random applications and they all download & run, just this one does not boot after download.
User avatar
uhi22
Posts: 1084
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:20 pm
Location: Ingolstadt/Germany
Has thanked: 187 times
Been thanked: 604 times

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by uhi22 »

I'm not using the latest (because I'm too lazy ;-), but an older one. This shows after pressing and releasing the EN (aka Reset) button:
rst:0x1 (POWERON_RESET),boot:0x13 (SPI_FAST_FLASH_BOOT)
configsip: 0, SPIWP:0xee
clk_drv:0x00,q_drv:0x00,d_drv:0x00,cs0_drv:0x00,hd_drv:0x00,wp_drv:0x00
mode:DIO, clock div:1
load:0x3fff0030,len:1344
load:0x40078000,len:13964
load:0x40080400,len:3600
entry 0x400805f0
No RTC found, defaulting to sequential file names
E (161) sdmmc_common: sdmmc_init_ocr: send_op_cond (1) returned 0x107
E (162) vfs_fat_sdmmc: sdmmc_card_init failed (0x107).
Couldn't start SD_MMC
Driver installed
Driver started
Initialized CAN

and it works fine afterwards.

Just to sort things out: On https://github.com/jsphuebner/esp32-web-interface there are two branches: The uart-backend and the can-backend. I can only speak for the CAN variant. Depending which hardware environment you have, you need to get the right variant from github.
If nothing helps, you could add some additional debug prints in the setup() function, starting after DBG_OUTPUT_PORT.begin(115200), like DBG_OUTPUT_PORT.println("Here is the start of the setup"), to see how far it comes.
User avatar
FJ3422
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Jul 10, 2020 9:55 am
Location: Netherlands
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Cannot access web interface on New Tesla LDU V6 Board

Post by FJ3422 »

Thanks for the tips !

Just tried:
CAN-backend version
Initially stalled at the " (SD_MMC.begin())" instruction. After removing the SD initialisation, project runs & webserver is functional !

uart-backend version (which I need)
Does hang after the "entry 0x400805f0". Debug-message at the very first beginning of void setup(void) is nog even shown.
What does the ESP32 do before the setup call ?


[edit] The 'uart-backend version' had Serial2 defined as debug output port, so did not see anything on the serial monitor at the programming port. Set it to 'Serial' to find that the SD initialisation was also the issue here. Removed it and it works ! Thanks for your help !
Post Reply