Simp BMS

Topics concerning OEM and open source BMSes
Jackk
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Simp Charge Support

Post by Jackk »

tom91 wrote: Sat Sep 04, 2021 2:33 pm SimpCharge Update

I have spent a few hours today working through the SimpBMS code to read the conditioned signal from the SimpCharge.

It now works as it should reading the Control Pilot AC Current limit and translating it into DC current limit utilizing the following two new variables:

1. Charger Efficiency - AC to DC power conversion losses approximated, best to under estimate as it can be dynamic based on output
2. Charge input Voltage - AC voltage supply into charger

Currently fully implemented in the newest Tesla Firmware

Please let me know if you want to try it out on another firmware and I will update it for you. Be aware there might be a few bugs, so just provide feedback and I will resolve them as soon as possible.

Hi Tom,

I initially got my charger working by connecting CP line to 12v.

I have now tied it to simp charge via 5k resistor and still have the same problem i had in the first place. Charger boots up but there is zero current flow. I'm sure if I disconnect CP line it will work again. I have updated to the latest firmware.


What info do you need to diagnose?


J
tom91
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Please check the updated settings, and please show me the debug with the charge port plugged in.
Jackk
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Jackk »

tom91 wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 8:30 pm Please check the updated settings, and please show me the debug with the charge port plugged in.
Hi Tom please see attached....

Note that if I reboot simp I get current flow from charger for maybe 5 seconds before it goes back to 0.
Attachments
PXL_20210907_080336335.jpg
PXL_20210907_080339857.jpg
PXL_20210907_080612953.jpg
PXL_20210907_080626541.jpg
tom91
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Charger efficiency is set to -1.... set this to 85

Also show me the scrolling debug so I can the relevant data not the current sensor.
Jackk
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Jackk »

Set efficiency to 85% now getting current fault with evse....see pic .

When I toggle can debug (1) nothing happens?
Attachments
PXL_20210907_091650574.jpg
tom91
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

Again, please just show me the "standard" scrolling debug showing the status and cell voltages. This will give me some insight into what is happening.

Does the evse allow some charge and then turn off?
Jackk
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Jackk »

Right now the charger is just kicking in and out getting over current fault ...so yes evse allows about 5 seconds of charge .. before fault.
Attachments
PXL_20210907_100028841.jpg
tom91
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

So it turns out the CP signal is not being read right. Do you have a 1K resistor to replace the 5K? Possibly the signal is not strong enough.

I am not too sure about how susceptible this 1Khz pwm signal is not external noise. I would recommend having the run from the SimpCharge to the SimpBMS be the shortest run possible.
Jackk
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Jackk »

tom91 wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 10:31 am So it turns out the CP signal is not being read right. Do you have a 1K resistor to replace the 5K? Possibly the signal is not strong enough.

I am not too sure about how susceptible this 1Khz pwm signal is not external noise. I would recommend having the run from the SimpCharge to the SimpBMS be the shortest run possible.
Ok now with the new 1k resistor inline we have constant charge ( 5 minutes in so far with no current fault on evse )

Although my clamp meter and anologue current sensor is reading about 20amps. 10 amps shy of what it should be. Would changing this resistor value alter DC current ?
Attachments
PXL_20210907_112018097.jpg
User avatar
arturk
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:58 am
Location: United States, MD

Re: Simp BMS

Post by arturk »

arturk wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 4:27 am
tom91 wrote: Tue May 25, 2021 6:01 pm So Tesla, VW, Outlander, BMW I3 all have support for the IVT-S shunts
Tom, is support for IVT-S planned for BMWPhevBMS ?
I could really use it :)
bump
1998 Jaguar XJR, GS450h drivetrain, 48kWh/96s BMW battery
Jackk
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Jackk »

Jackk wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 11:21 am
tom91 wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 10:31 am So it turns out the CP signal is not being read right. Do you have a 1K resistor to replace the 5K? Possibly the signal is not strong enough.

I am not too sure about how susceptible this 1Khz pwm signal is not external noise. I would recommend having the run from the SimpCharge to the SimpBMS be the shortest run possible.
Ok now with the new 1k resistor inline we have constant charge ( 5 minutes in so far with no current fault on evse )

Although my clamp meter and anologue current sensor is reading about 20amps. 10 amps shy of what it should be. Would changing this resistor value alter DC current ?
Actually ignore the lower current. My evse was set to 10a AC.
Jackk
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Jackk »

Have people managed to successfully get SOC to work using coulomb counting?

Took the car for a trip earlier (30miles ish) and my SOC increased by 10%..... does this mean ive cracked free energy?
The current sensor is happy and calibrated but for some reason only happy up to 200A. If it goes over 200A then it immediately reads 396A until i let of throttle completely... then it resets.

My current sensor is a LEM DHAB-S-18 and is rated up to 350A. I do not believe I'm exceeding that by much...

any ideas I'm a bit stuck on what to do...

Thanks
tom91
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

arturk wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 2:48 pm Tom, is support for IVT-S planned for BMWPhevBMS ?
I could really use it :)
I have now create new firmware rolling nearly all the changes upto SimpCharge Support into the BMWPhev firmware. This means the IVTS shunts board casting on ids 0x521, 0x522, 0x523 are supported.

firmware found: https://github.com/Tom-evnut/BMWPhevBMS

Please remember to check and redo all settings as this is a major revision. Please feedback any bugs found.
User avatar
arturk
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:58 am
Location: United States, MD

Re: Simp BMS

Post by arturk »

tom91 wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 5:25 pm I have now create new firmware rolling nearly all the changes upto SimpCharge Support into the BMWPhev firmware. This means the IVTS shunts board casting on ids 0x521, 0x522, 0x523 are supported.

firmware found: https://github.com/Tom-evnut/BMWPhevBMS

Please remember to check and redo all settings as this is a major revision. Please feedback any bugs found.
Awesome, thanks a lot Tom!
I will report back if I run into any issues.
1998 Jaguar XJR, GS450h drivetrain, 48kWh/96s BMW battery
Jackk
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 6:29 pm

Re: Simp BMS

Post by Jackk »

Jackk wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 5:19 pm Have people managed to successfully get SOC to work using coulomb counting?

Took the car for a trip earlier (30miles ish) and my SOC increased by 10%..... does this mean ive cracked free energy?
The current sensor is happy and calibrated but for some reason only happy up to 200A. If it goes over 200A then it immediately reads 396A until i let of throttle completely... then it resets.

My current sensor is a LEM DHAB-S-18 and is rated up to 350A. I do not believe I'm exceeding that by much...

any ideas I'm a bit stuck on what to do...

Thanks
Anybody have an idea really stuck on what to do...
User avatar
arturk
Posts: 144
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2019 3:58 am
Location: United States, MD

Re: Simp BMS

Post by arturk »

tom91 wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 5:25 pm ...Please feedback any bugs found.
Tom, same bug Bryson found in Tesla version also exists in BMWPhevBMS.
I have updated line of code listed below and current from ISA is now being reported correctly.
Bryson wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 7:27 pm Got it. The variable CANmilliamps was trying to pull from the rx buffer and not the can message buffer. Set CANmilliamps as below and we're good to go! ISA shunt compatibility B)

Code: Select all

CANmilliamps = ((inMsg.buf[5] << 24) | (inMsg.buf[4] << 16) | (inMsg.buf[3] << 8) | (inMsg.buf[2]));
Also, type of CAN current sensor seems to be hardcoded. I could not find way to set it through menu.
1998 Jaguar XJR, GS450h drivetrain, 48kWh/96s BMW battery
alexbeatle
Posts: 30
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2021 6:12 am

Re: Simp BMS

Post by alexbeatle »

Sorry for the noob question, but are there any instructions on how to upgrade the SimpBMS to support 2x CAN interfaces or there's a gen2 board that already has two of them?
tom91
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

No as that is not supported by the SimpBMS V2.3 that I have made.

I am working on getting the SimpBMS/VCU V3.0 tested, but due to the chip shortages I cannot put this into production plus testing is going to take quite some time.
arber333
Posts: 1938
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:37 pm
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Simp BMS

Post by arber333 »

Hi

After some time unused i dusted up my Volt BICM modules and i connected them to SimpBMS and Volt battery.
Immediately i noticed error. Modules were telling me one cell is at 5V and another is 0V!
On display i only get 95 cells in series! But when i go and measure actual cell voltage i get every cell good above 3.77V.
What do you think is happening? Imade a screenshot...
Attachments
Untitled1.jpg
tom91
Posts: 601
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
Location: Bristol

Re: Simp BMS

Post by tom91 »

arber333 wrote: Mon Oct 25, 2021 8:29 pm Hi

After some time unused i dusted up my Volt BICM modules and i connected them to SimpBMS and Volt battery.
Immediately i noticed error. Modules were telling me one cell is at 5V and another is 0V!
On display i only get 95 cells in series! But when i go and measure actual cell voltage i get every cell good above 3.77V.
What do you think is happening? Imade a screenshot...
Damage to the wiring or one of the slave modules I would hazard a guess. It should not be ready 5V (which is an error state i believe)
arber333
Posts: 1938
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2018 1:37 pm
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: Simp BMS

Post by arber333 »

tom91 wrote: Tue Oct 26, 2021 3:14 pm Damage to the wiring or one of the slave modules I would hazard a guess. It should not be ready 5V (which is an error state i believe)
I looked at the display more carefully and i got 96 cells for like 5 seconds then it changed to 95. When i tried to observe i sa cell no 81 plummet towards 0V in the first 5s after boot up.
I got another BICM board from a friend and it shows exactly the same behaviour with exactly the same cell no 81 at 00V and no82 at 5V.
This is too much of a coincidence to be BICM fault. Maybe the pins inside battery?
Attachments
Untitled2.jpg
User avatar
EV_Builder
Posts: 490
Joined: Tue Apr 28, 2020 3:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Simp BMS

Post by EV_Builder »

On request I will build a SIMP BMS version for the Taycan Battery.
So stay tuned and it will be supported in SIMP BMS.

See: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2002

Update: If offcourse its needed!
Post Reply