Page 1 of 1

Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 1:29 am
by Zapatero
I have installed a Gen3 inverter and it only outputs 125Kw. I kindly like to ask Johannes to paste the line of code here so someone maybe can identify the issue.
johu wrote: ...
Thanks, Philip

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2022 6:44 am
by johu
In general the gremlin would be in this file: https://github.com/damienmaguire/Stm32- ... eafinv.cpp

And possibly this line:

Code: Select all

final_torque_request = (torquePercent * 2047) / 100.0f;
So maximum request is 2047

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2023 9:27 am
by dimonlipko
I have the same problem. I add more ID in can bus that need for 160kw inverter, and it start take 550A from battery. But now have problem, that when torque request more than 2047, motor cut power and shaking. If I press pedal slower, motor have full power, but without max torque.

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Wed Jan 11, 2023 11:18 pm
by Zapatero
Are there some can logs out there from a Nissan Leaf with 160Kw where we could see, what exactly is happening there?

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2023 6:03 pm
by dimonlipko
Yes, I have log from leaf 160kw in drive.
Leaf_62kw_160kw_inv_in drive.txt
(215.54 KiB) Downloaded 101 times

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2023 8:32 am
by Zapatero
johu wrote: Fri Dec 02, 2022 6:44 am In general the gremlin would be in this file: https://github.com/damienmaguire/Stm32- ... eafinv.cpp

And possibly this line:

Code: Select all

final_torque_request = (torquePercent * 2047) / 100.0f;
So maximum request is 2047
can you please tell me which message contains the value?
Hex-Identifier and Start bit and length.
Then i could check the text file for the values.

Thanks!!!

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2023 8:45 am
by Zapatero

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Tue Jan 17, 2023 9:18 am
by Zapatero
In 1D4 byte 0 and 1 according to the VCU code we're seinding 0xF7 and 0x07.
Seems to be 0x88 most of the time in the can log txt file.
On another website i found it should be 0x6e and 0x6e

------------------------------------
// Usually F7, but can have values between 9A...F7 (gen1)
bytes[0] = 0xF7;
// 2016: 6E
// outFrame.data.bytes[0] = 0x6E;

// Usually 07, but can have values between 07...70 (gen1)
bytes[1] = 0x07;
// 2016: 6E
//outFrame.data.bytes[1] = 0x6E;



-----------------------------------

https://mynissanleaf.com/viewtopic.php? ... &start=190

byte send1D4[8] = {0x6e, 0x6e, 0x00, 0x00, 0x00, 0x44, 0x01, 0x00};

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Mon Jan 30, 2023 9:40 am
by johu
Also looked at the logfile now. Torque request is in bytes[2] and bytes[3] & 0xF0, signed, big endian

So torque = -2048*(bytes[2] & 0x80)/0x80 + (bytes[2] & 0x7F) * 16 + bytes[3] / 16
The largest value I ever see in the logfile is 1360, very stable for a prolonged time, so probably full throttle. Or have I miscalculated somehow and it should be 1360*2?

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Mon Mar 13, 2023 11:32 pm
by cloudy
Did anyone manage to solve this in the end?

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Tue Mar 14, 2023 9:41 pm
by dimonlipko
I still have this problem(

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2023 10:54 pm
by Zapatero
I still have this problem, too

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Tue Mar 21, 2023 5:07 am
by aesthetect
Is operation smooth and consistent below request of 2047?

I assume this would be the same situation on any complete 160 kW gen 3 motor+inverter? But is a non-issue on 110 kW units?

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Tue Mar 21, 2023 4:30 pm
by Zapatero
Yes, drives perfectly smooth, just only delivers 125 kw

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2023 2:39 pm
by cloudy
You get 125 from the 110?

Re: Gen 3 160kw inverter only outputs 125 kw

Posted: Sat Mar 25, 2023 2:51 pm
by Zapatero
cloudy wrote: Sat Mar 25, 2023 2:39 pm You get 125 from the 110?
No, the topic is about the 160kw inverter. How the 110 kw inverter behaves i don't know.