The Greg's Grid Tie Solar Project

Tell us about your renewable energy project
Gregski

The Greg's Grid Tie Solar Project

Post by Gregski »

Hope to share my experiences with solar powerism from the total newbs perspective Greg style. The goal being alleviate all the intimidation and hubub dealing with solar system installations. There will be no talk of ROI or ROwe on this thread, this is going to be as simple and as inexpensive as it gets, we will take baby steps, and hopefully we can learn together. Please read most of the words before commenting as some pictures may not tell the whole story.

Background: I hail from California the land of regulations, ha ha my day job is a computer geek but I know which end of a screw driver to hold and I aint skierd to try new things, I also love learning and enjoy making things myself (some say I don't like money)

QUESTIONS:
(this section will expand as we go along)
  • What the hell is a grid tie system?
    • one that requires no batteries
inverter-for-solar-panel-system.jpg
  • Well, how much you gonna spend?
    • hopefully less than $1,000
  • Do you need a license / permit for that?
    • Hell no, well (maybe)
  • Is it safe?
    • Yes, the system shuts down when you shut down the mains in your electrical panel for service.
  • Is it legal?
    • Check your local ordinances I guess
red tape.jpg
red tape.jpg (18.19 KiB) Viewed 7053 times
  • How does it store energy?
    • It doesn't
  • Does it work at night?
    • No
  • Can you use it as a backup system when your grid power goes out?
    • No, it shuts off for safety when the house looses it's normal power from the utility company
  • Does the inverter come with any management software?
    • Not this one but the micro inverters do, however we have a solution for that, please start by looking at the Kill A Watt meter
  • Does the inverter have WiFi?
    • Not this one but the micro inverters do, however we have a solution for that