GEN 3 charger not starting

Topics concerning the Tesla front and rear drive unit drop-in board
nathaniel

GEN 3 charger not starting

Post by nathaniel »

hi all,
i'm new in the DIY EV, i'm planning to convert a Triumph spitfire. after a lot of research i have started with preparations for this.
i have successfully run a mitsubishi PHEV motor on a opel ampera inverter wit a openinverter controller, so i'm starting to get familiar withe the openinverter firmware. the next step was the charger, that is what my question is about.
i have a Tesla GEN 3 charger EU version. i have the rev 3 STM based controller with the Tesla Charger alternative firmware 1.06 running on it(i could only find this firmware on the GEN 2 topic, maybe there is the cause of my problem?). if i login on the web interface i can see all the settings. at the moment i don't have a type 2 charger yet so i tried the manual mode. if i put a signal on D1 input the 3 modules are going on there on state (leds are going on) all 3 modules are reporting a AC voltage and also a DC voltage if i connect the battery. and also some temperatures and etc.
the problem is that the charge seems to start, i can see the current idc starting to rise to my setpoint but after a couple of seconds the modules going into a fault and charge stopt, and then it restarts the charge and this repeated endless. if i measure on the AC and DC side there is never a current increase and never any current at the DC side.
the CAN bus resistor seems good, on both sides a 120 ohm resistor, 60 ohm total. and sinds i have data from the modules i think the problem is not in the CAN communication.
i have tried to run only one module at the time, case is connected to ground, neutral is on the right side al in the original setup. the reset seems not happening when the AC is not connected.
Am I missing something? do i need to do something with the CP of prox signal pins in manual mode? like i said i'm new to this so i think i did something wrong.