1993 Volvo 245

Tell us about the project you do with the open inverter
mark

1993 Volvo 245

Post by mark »

Hello! I've been lurking for a while, and I feel it's time to make a post. I've been a Volvo enthusiast for most of my life. My parents had a white '83 245 from new. I've owned several Volvos over the years. I bought this one a few years back, thinking I'd do the typical Volvo bits (turbo, 5spd swap, suspension, etc.), but I was never really motivated to get underway.

Around the same time, I found Damien's YouTube videos, and then this forum. This is what I've been looking for. I'm a systems engineer / architect, and have written code professionally at different parts of my career. One of my other hobbies is repairing electronics, especially older analog audio gear.

All that said, I've started my project in earnest. This afternoon, I pulled the ICE and gearbox from the car.

I'm thinking that I'm going to go with the GS450H as my motor, since that seems to be the easiest way to get a car with this configuration converted. I've been watching Gregski's videos as well. But, I'm totally open to suggestions in terms of hardware, etc. Right now, I still have some more ICE related bits to remove like the fuel tank. And I'm going to assess how much rust repair and cleanup needs to happen.
mark

Re: 1993 Volvo 245

Post by mark »

Things are happening:

After some searching on car-part.com, I found a GS-450H transmission for a really good price. I think they're pricing it like the GS-450 ICE auto trans? Around the same time, I spoke with a member on a Volvo message board, not too far from the salvage yard's location in Canada. He's looking for some of the manual transmission parts that I have kicking around. He's buying the transmission, driving it down here, and driving back with my parts. We both wind up getting a good deal, and no shipping.