I think I CAN, I think I CAN... Topic is solved

Gregski

I think I CAN, I think I CAN...

Post by Gregski »

INTRODUCTION

I would like to sum up in a thread the process I will go through to learn Controller Area Network aka CAN bus. I am not an expert, I know nothing about it other than some EV components that I will most likely end up using, need it in order to be controlled (I'm looking at you onboard battery chargers)

since I am converting a 1971 Chevy truck to electric, the GIF below sums up my enthusiasm in wanting to A) learn CAN bus, and 2) introduce it to my vehicle, I hope that by posting this thread it will guilt me into learning it, and the tens of readers will hold me accountable

yes I know I am bolting up a ton of electrons and sophistication to it already but I draw the line at CAN, ha ha, also I know commercial chargers exi$t but I want to use repurposed hybrid or electric car bits

so if you share my excitement and interest in learning the bare minimum to make things work, chargers charge, converters convert, and current shunts shunt, than feel free to leisurely scroll down

"I don't need to understand how it works, I just need to understand how to make it work!" ~ EV Greg
Gregski

Re: I think I CAN, I think I CAN...

Post by Gregski »

A LIST OF THINGS THAT CAN
(these will all be links eventually)

• BMW 330e, 530e, and 740e battery pack BMS
  • Chevy Volt Charger (first gen only)
  • Chevy Volt DC-DC Converter (first gen only)
  • Damien Maguire's Lexus GS450h VCU

please holler at me with more items to add to the list

"I don't need to understand how it works, I just need to understand how to make it work!" ~ EV Greg
arber333

Post by arber333 »

Gregski wrote: Thu Apr 28, 2022 5:05 pm A LIST OF THINGS THAT CAN

please holler at me with more items to add to the list

Outlander heater
Outlander AC compressor

Incidentally Volt AC compressor also does CAN :) but i dont know its language...
Gregski

Post by Gregski »