Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Introduction and miscellaneous that we haven't created categories for, yet
User avatar
asavage
Posts: 329
Joined: Sat May 14, 2022 10:57 pm
Location: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Has thanked: 279 times
Been thanked: 103 times
Contact:

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by asavage »

Could you write a recipe similar to dadiowe's, for the Win environment, that uses modern Python?

I only run Win in a couple of VMs for specific tasks, so I don't need such a recipe (I'd use my usual linux OS), but I'm sure others are more comfortable using Win, and such an updated recipe could only make things easier for people trying to do as they and nkiernan did: compile from source under Win.
Al Savage
2014 RAV4 EV
NissanDiesel
royhen99
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2022 4:23 am
Location: N. Wiltshire. UK
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by royhen99 »

This is what worked for me. I have it running on two machines. This also sets the path variable. mingw32_make is not in the latest arm gcc pakage so I tried the pacman -S make out of desperation, I am not sure if this is correct but it seems to work.

Install msys2 https://www.msys2.org/

open msys2 mingw64 (or mingw32 ) command window

pacman -S python

pacman -S mingw-w64-x86_64-arm-none-eabi-gcc

pacman -S make
dadiowe
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by dadiowe »

Still having trouble compiling. I have followed royhen instructions but when I try make I get,

$ make
GIT SUBMODULE
make: git: No such file or directory
make: *** [Makefile:118: get-deps] Error 127

I assume I am in the wrong directory?
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 5786
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Has thanked: 157 times
Been thanked: 1021 times
Contact:

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by johu »

You need to install git - it doesn't find the "git" binary
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
dadiowe
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by dadiowe »

johu wrote: Thu Dec 08, 2022 2:10 pm You need to install git - it doesn't find the "git" binary
Thanks Johu but I have used git to clone the repostory but where do i put the cloned file?
royhen99
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2022 4:23 am
Location: N. Wiltshire. UK
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by royhen99 »

I have just tried this on my laptop which I have not used to compile Stm32-vcu before.
Took about 5 mins to get .bin/.hex files.

pacman -S git

in your working directory

git clone https://github.com/damienmaguire/Stm32-vcu

in Stm32-vcu directory
make get-deps
make
dadiowe
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by dadiowe »

Thanks royhen99,
It is now compiling, but, if i upload the .bin file to the zombieverter the version number changes from 1.10A to 1.00 and the vcu does not get past the precharge but everything was working before the upload!!

All I am trying to do is compile a bin file with line that says,

Throttle::IdcLimitCommand(finalSpnt, Param::Get(Param::idc));

in the utils cpp file commented out.
royhen99
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2022 4:23 am
Location: N. Wiltshire. UK
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by royhen99 »

Just to be clear I am not using Zombieverter myself and am a beginner with git/github, but this seems to work. This clones the 1.10A branch.
It creates a new copy so there is probably a better way using checkout and tag but that is beyond my current knowledge.

git clone -b 1.10A https://github.com/damienmaguire/Stm32-vcu
dadiowe
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by dadiowe »

Thanks so much royhen99 that compiled and is showing 1.10A
I will test tomorrow fingers crossed
dadiowe
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by dadiowe »

Just following up on my attempts at cloning and compiling.

With much needed help from royhen99 I finally managed to edit and compile a working .bin file, this helped resolve my Torque cut issue.

The steps to compile and get a useable .bin file are,

Install msys2 https://www.msys2.org/

open msys2 mingw64 (or mingw32 ) command window

pacman -S python

pacman -S mingw-w64-x86_64-arm-none-eabi-gcc

pacman -S make

pacman -S git

git clone -b 1.10A https://github.com/damienmaguire/Stm32-vcu

change directory by typing

cd Stm32-vcu

make get-deps (at this point make get-deps started to work but then an error message came up saying that the "arm-none-eabi" file was missing.) Copying the "arm-none-eabi" into the stm32-vcu file seemed to cure this.

make

The output can be found in "C:\msys64\home\<user name>\Stm32-vcu". 5 files appear, linker map, stm32_vcu, stm32_vcu.bin, stm32_vcu.hex and an obj file.

If you want to edit the stm32-vcu code further I found that deleting the above 5 files allow you to make changes to the stm32-vcu code and recompile. This deletion may be "over kill" but it worked for me.
royhen99
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2022 4:23 am
Location: N. Wiltshire. UK
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by royhen99 »

"make clean" will delete the output files for you.
dadiowe
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by dadiowe »

royhen99 wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 8:12 pm "make clean" will delete the output files for you.
Thanks I knew there would be a simpler way. ;)

Just one thing, where did you get the link for the 1.10A code.
royhen99
Posts: 211
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2022 4:23 am
Location: N. Wiltshire. UK
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 100 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by royhen99 »

dadiowe
Posts: 112
Joined: Fri Sep 17, 2021 6:11 pm
Has thanked: 41 times
Been thanked: 19 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by dadiowe »

Ok I think I get it,
git clone -b (version i want i.e. 1.10A) https://github.com/damienmaguire/Stm32-vcu

Sorry to be a numpty but I know nothing of this dark art.
Its a bit like give a man a git address and he can clone 1 thing. Show a man how to figure it out and he can clone for life ;)
User avatar
DkubusEV
Posts: 81
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2022 4:22 am
Location: Australia
Has thanked: 130 times
Been thanked: 15 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by DkubusEV »

Currently building my gs450h-to-zombie harness so that when my zombie arrives in Australia I can start learning all these "next steps" and hopefully spin some wheels (well prop shaft output anyway).. following along and reading everything I can from you fine gentlemen. Looking forward to hopefully being able to one day contribute something of value to others within this group. Cheers guys.
1998 Mercedes R170 SLK gs450h project
2003 Smart-Roadster hillclimb EV (DC)zilla2k
1976 Purvis-Eureka EV kit car
2011 Ford focus EV (DC)Soliton1
1990 Daihatsu charade G100 3 door DC conversion.
nkiernan
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:59 pm
Location: Ireland
Has thanked: 284 times
Been thanked: 65 times

Re: Zombieverter .bin compile help - Codeblocks

Post by nkiernan »

dadiowe wrote: Fri Dec 09, 2022 4:49 pm Just following up on my attempts at cloning and compiling.
With much needed help from royhen99 I finally managed to edit and compile a working .bin file, this helped resolve my Torque cut issue.
The steps to compile and get a useable .bin file are,
Just a note, I followed these instructions from scratch and it worked 100% without seeing the error you mentioned or having to manually copy in the 'arm' file. Cheers :)
Post Reply