Page 1 of 1

IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Sun Feb 28, 2021 5:49 pm
by PoloLbricolo
Hi all,
Finally moving forward with my project :)

I'm looking to set IDC min and IDC max via a canbus message sent by my BMS, that way BMS is happy and not opening the contactor when under load because it sees too much power going in or out of the battery pack.

I'm using a SDU logic board V6 runing the 4.97R firmware.

How do i setup these can messages using the web interface ?

Re: IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Mon Mar 01, 2021 2:03 pm
by johu
You have to use custom command because parameters don't have the CAN facilities. So

Code: Select all

can rx idcmin a b c
a, b, c being bit offset, bitt length, gain (usually 32)

Re: IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Wed Mar 03, 2021 12:05 pm
by Zapatero
If you got it working please let me know if this works smooth for you. Mine work but the limit is very very harsh and the whole car rattles and "clonks".

Thanks!

Re: IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2021 3:11 pm
by johu
Yes I'm still trying to understand that. Basically in Touran which has the very same drivetrain and same parameters (the only difference was throtcur, which we then matched just to check) it works totally smooth. Even parameters that are completely undriveable for Philip just give me a little wiggle in Touran. The only obvious difference is the car itself. Different transmission + driveshaft to rear and different chassis. Maybe it just reacts more to torque ripple?

Re: IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2021 3:17 pm
by PoloLbricolo
johu wrote: Mon Mar 01, 2021 2:03 pm You have to use custom command because parameters don't have the CAN facilities. So

Code: Select all

can rx idcmin a b c
a, b, c being bit offset, bitt length, gain (usually 32)
where/how should i send that command from the web interface ?

Re: IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2021 3:49 pm
by johu
at the top where it says "Send Custom Command"

Re: IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2021 3:52 pm
by PoloLbricolo
indeed, never used it yet. I'll try this and report how it's going :)

Thanks !

Re: IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2021 4:04 pm
by Peter
If its any help I am working on reading idc via CAN then adjust CAN value of throttle %. Therefore if idc is below a set value I can have max throttle and as the current rises above the set value the throttle is backed off linearly. Thats the theory, so it does not have the effect of shutting down with 'rattles and clonks'. Reading CAN at 1M for speed of response too.
I am sure bms variable can be added to this idea.

Re: IDC limits via canbus ?

Posted: Sat Mar 20, 2021 10:50 am
by PoloLbricolo
I got arround to doing it (finally), i seems that the command to send was missing a parameter before a concerning ID.
So the commands i used are :

Code: Select all

can rx idcmax 1301 0 16 32

1301 being the id in decimal (0x515),0 being the bit position, 16 being bit length (2 byte) and 32 the ofset.

Code: Select all

can rx idcmin 1300 0 16 -32

1300 being the id in decimal (0x514),0 being the bit position, 16 being bit length (2 byte) and -32 the ofset as we want idcmin to be negative.

Since i'm using orion 2 bms the data sent is some what diffrent, as you can see in the pictures attached.

Biggest difference is the byte order on the bms side.

After a little testing when going over the max limit is like when the inverter goes overtemp. I can't really do more testing as my car is not road worthy yet (no doors, roof or body panels) and we are in lockdown again..

Cheers
Paul