Mercedes W201 190E - Agony of choice (Leaf or GS450H)

190E

Mercedes W201 190E - Agony of choice (Leaf or GS450H)

Post by 190E »

Hello community.

i am from the middle of Germany and new to this board. I am a 24yrs old mechanical engineer and build cars together with a friend of mine, who is an electrical engineer. The reason for joining this board is growing interests for electrifing one of my vehicles.
In my working area i have some tools, a lathe, 2 3D-printers, 2 lifts etc...
I am a typical car guy and have a soft spot for older RWD cars, i own a BMW E30 328i, BMW E36 325TDS and a Mercedes W124 250TD
All vehicles are rolling with more or less modified engines, and output between 220 and 400 hp at the crank.

But now i am after something new and exciting. I am fascinated of the simplicity of the mechanical components in an electrical vehicle, you know, no spark plug, no air fuel ratio to note, and no conversion from linear to rotary motion etc.

So, to get started, yesterday i got a call from a man i dont know, who offered me an W201 190E merc for very small amount of money. I seem to be regionally known to host half-wrecked, old cars and give them a second (and faster) life :D This was the initial spark to get started, and there begin my plannings and questions.

To define the goal:
I want to create a car that is street legally in germany. I already spoke to an TÜV engineer, who is interested to accompany to this project.
I also bought the TÜV-Merkblatt 764
The car would be used in daily driving, but also taken sporadic to small Trackdays(short races like Slalom etc)
So my mate and me defiened some specs we want to reach:

- The car should reach a minimum of 6s/100kmh (or faster, of course)
- The coolant system should be capable of taking some heat, so you can drive some time with high power before something begins to smell..(or the inverter chokes output power)
- We want to reach a 50/50 weight distribution with intelligent placing of the components