LDU parameter tuning

Topics concerning the Tesla front and rear drive unit drop-in board
jon volk

LDU parameter tuning

Post by jon volk »

While the general parameters seem to be well documented on their own, I thought it would be a good conversation to talk specifically about what parameters you should and shouldn’t change on the LDU and how these changes affect actual driveability performance as well as power levels/delivery

I’m a newb so I’ll let the experts start.
Formerly 92 E30 BMW Cabrio with Tesla power
Lee Malo

Re: LDU parameter tuning

Post by Lee Malo »

great Idea ! . any input from other members ??
Poor quality lingers long after the cheap price is forgotten.
Jack Bauer

Post by Jack Bauer »

Ok I'll get things started.

Firstly, a few DO NOT CHANGE parameters.

POLEPAIRS
NUMIMP
ENCMODE
DIRMODE
PWMFRQ
PWMPOL (change this and kiss your inverter bye bye)
DEADTIME

These are the main do not touch. There are a few others but these are the main ones who can ruin your day in a heatbeat. Please don't ask me how I know.

Now, I know you guys want moar powwa but before we go there a cautionary tale from my younger self :
I'm going to need a hacksaw
jon volk

Post by jon volk »

Good stuff!
Damien, what was your boost value set to when you had the car on the dyno? Aside from breaking driveline, when might the boost value start to have unfavorable consequences from a motor/inverter standpoint?
Jack Bauer

Post by Jack Bauer »

So first we need to understand the meaning of Boost in the context of the inverter.
All motor stators have a DC resistance. Until that resistance is overcame, no current can flow. It is current in the stator that creates the magnetic fields that allow the motor to tun electricity into mechanical effort.