Project VW Cadd-E, Leaf/Volt/Mercedes + Mk1 VW

Tell us about the project you do with the open inverter
vwbrady

Project VW Cadd-E, Leaf/Volt/Mercedes + Mk1 VW

Post by vwbrady »

Hi! My name is Andrew and I thought i'd make a short introduction since i've been lurking for a bit now.

I went to Western Washington University's Vehicle Research Institute, where I helped create this carbon-monocoque 100mpg+ car.
34022_443727440235_3118051_n.jpg
I was mostly responsible for transplanting a Honda Insight hybrid system into this mid-engine science project. So, DIY EVing is not completely foreign to me, but I've not ever gone beyond forklift level technology. Today I work as a BEV Power Electronics Manager for a Global HD Truck OEM.

On to the project -
I'm a bit of a VW fanboy and much prefer the MK1 and MK3 platforms. Since the ID3 will not be sold in North America, I have to take things into my own hands.

The project I'll be documenting in this thread is the Leaf-ification of my 1980 Rabbit Pickup, aka "Caddy" outside of NA. I'm hoping this leads to the electrification of my other MK1 VWs in the future, and maybe even my Golf Harlequin??

The truck:
IMG_20170601_181941.jpg
The Powertrain (in the back of my Model Y):
IMG_20200911_084745.jpg
My clown car:
IMG_20200819_170321.jpg
Bratitude

Re: Project VW Cadd-ev

Post by Bratitude »

Welcome!

Awesome project, mini trucks I think are a great conversion platform. small and light, tons of battery space, and suspension to support.

there a yellow patina caddy in the bushes down the road from me... I’m eyeing it for a next conversion.

Interested to see how you go about yours!

what is your plan/ goal for the truck?
https://bratindustries.net/ leaf motor couplers, adapter plates, custom drive train components
vwbrady

Post by vwbrady »

Bratitude wrote: Sun Sep 13, 2020 11:00 pm Welcome!

Awesome project, mini trucks I think are a great conversion platform. small and light, tons of battery space, and suspension to support.