can id´s 4 Gear Selector
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
Maybe I bought a broken GSM? But if I apply 9V to the motor or solenoid pins, the knob rises and the solenoid releases its movement.
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
Code: Select all
void RaiseKnob()
{
Knoblock = Unlocked;
KnobPosDes = Raise;
Serial.println();
Serial.println("RaiseKnob");
}
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
You show pictures and the module tester. Do you have a module tester?
It is not clear how have it wired, as in all the wires.
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
So if you upload other code you can see CAN bus?
Then there is a coding problem for your setup.
If you force the variable
It will then always try display all the incoming can traffic.
Then there is a coding problem for your setup.
If you force the variable
Code: Select all
bool candebug = 1;
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
to TOM91
Can you make a short video of how it works on your desk? I was able to enable debugging and see the message
Can you make a short video of how it works on your desk? I was able to enable debugging and see the message
Code: Select all
497387,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x04, 0x07, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
497408,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x05, 0x08, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
No, I don't have a model tester with Aliexpress. I want to use arduino instead. So that when power is applied to the arduino, the GSM turns on and the knob rises. Read and send data to the GSM for joint operation with a stepper motor.
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
My setup is wired as flowing:
With the Arduino sending the canbus, the knob will raise when ignition is supplied with 12V and will lower when it is removed.
You can even have the canbus not working apply power to all the 12V inputs then turn on the canbus or connect it and the knob raises.
The knob does not get raised based on canbus content it just needs to be correct and 12V "ign" needs to be provided.
I have removed the old bits of code from Gen 1 now as it confuses people they are artifacts from the Gen 2 knob where canbus can lock and move the knob up and down.
Code: Select all
Pin Signal
1-12V
2-12V (ign)
5-CAN H
6-CAN L
14-12V
22-Ground
You can even have the canbus not working apply power to all the 12V inputs then turn on the canbus or connect it and the knob raises.
The knob does not get raised based on canbus content it just needs to be correct and 12V "ign" needs to be provided.
I have removed the old bits of code from Gen 1 now as it confuses people they are artifacts from the Gen 2 knob where canbus can lock and move the knob up and down.
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
From my findings this would mean the knob is the reverse position.VanGogh wrote: ↑Tue Apr 04, 2023 10:01 pmCode: Select all
497387,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x04, 0x07, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00 497408,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x05, 0x08, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
I don't understand why it doesn't detect the Park position... There is 12V on pin 14. But the monitor still displays
Code: Select all
497387,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x04, 0x07, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
497408,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x05, 0x08, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
Code: Select all
497387,0x3F3,false,8, 0x5C, 0x66, 0x04, 0x07, 0xFF, 0x7F, 0x00, 0x80
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
I bought this GSM on ebay and Lifting Gear Lever was broken. I printed it on my 3D printer and installed it in place.
Checked motor and solenoid. Everything works and moves. Maybe some microcircuit burned out and therefore there is no signal to the motor to raise the knob?-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
This says the knob is in park yes.VanGogh wrote: ↑Tue Apr 04, 2023 11:19 pm But it must beCode: Select all
497387,0x3F3,false,8, 0x5C, 0x66, 0x04, 0x07, 0xFF, 0x7F, 0x00, 0x80
Where are you based? You could send me your GSM so I can use my tester and look at getting it to work. As you say it might just be broken.
It could also be a slightly different version then the "Gen1" myself and others have tested.
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
Thanks for the offer. It's not convenient for me to send you a module. There is no such module on the video of the seller on Aliexpress. Maybe he has other ID codes?tom91 wrote: ↑Wed Apr 05, 2023 8:27 am This says the knob is in park yes.
Where are you based? You could send me your GSM so I can use my tester and look at getting it to work. As you say it might just be broken.
It could also be a slightly different version then the "Gen1" myself and others have tested.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Gw7OOGjw54&t=160s
It looks like number 10 from the video
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
Okay, then there is nothing I can do for you as I literally have the tester in the video.
It most likely is no different ID but your unit will have a fault or is broken somehow.
It most likely is no different ID but your unit will have a fault or is broken somehow.
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
This data comes to arduino (TX Led is on).
How to send data from arduino (RX)?
Code: Select all
497387,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x04, 0x07, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
497408,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x05, 0x08, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
Code: Select all
497387,0x3F3,false,8, 0x5C, 0x66, 0x04, 0x07, 0xFF, 0x7F, 0x00, 0x80
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
It already does it automatically. As shown by others and myself.
Same code as used here:
Same code as used here:
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
Do you know the program CANHacker 2.00.02?
In this program I send ID code
then nothing happens. I can draw 2 conclusions:
1) The GSM does not work.
2) ID codes do not fit it
In this program I send ID code
Code: Select all
3F3 8 5C 66 00 00 FF 7F 00 80
1) The GSM does not work.
2) ID codes do not fit it
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
There are alot of checksums involved so you need to have an active controller doing it. Static messages do not work, this is why I made the Arduino code public.
Unfortunately it takes quite a bit of effort to make things like this work, if you are not comfortable with CAN bus this is not something that is easy to figure out.
If you can get another can bus device you can log what is going on between the Arduino sketch and the gsm.
Unfortunately it takes quite a bit of effort to make things like this work, if you are not comfortable with CAN bus this is not something that is easy to figure out.
If you can get another can bus device you can log what is going on between the Arduino sketch and the gsm.
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
So I need to buy a tester for this GSM and read the code for the stepper motor with it? Can't do anything without a tester?!tom91 wrote: ↑Wed Apr 05, 2023 5:40 pm There are alot of checksums involved so you need to have an active controller doing it. Static messages do not work, this is why I made the Arduino code public.
Unfortunately it takes quite a bit of effort to make things like this work, if you are not comfortable with CAN bus this is not something that is easy to figure out.
If you can get another can bus device you can log what is going on between the Arduino sketch and the gsm.
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
a
This is why I offered to look at it since I have done the other two types.
I believe there is a language barrier here. I will repeat my last post in a different wording.
You need to do the following:
Option 1
1. Have an Arduino setup running the code as I posted on Github for the Gen 1 JLR GSM
2. Have another device (can be another arduino setup) reading the canbus between the Arduino and GSM
3. Log this data and share it here so I can review it.
Option 2
1. Put the GSM back to gethor
2. Put the GSM in a box
3. Post it to me
If the CAN communication is different then yes.
This is why I offered to look at it since I have done the other two types.
I believe there is a language barrier here. I will repeat my last post in a different wording.
You need to do the following:
Option 1
1. Have an Arduino setup running the code as I posted on Github for the Gen 1 JLR GSM
2. Have another device (can be another arduino setup) reading the canbus between the Arduino and GSM
3. Log this data and share it here so I can review it.
Option 2
1. Put the GSM back to gethor
2. Put the GSM in a box
3. Post it to me
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
I downloaded the arduino code Gen 1 from here
https://github.com/Tom-evnut/Land-Rover-Gearknob
You are talking about code Gen 1 JLR GSM. Maybe it's 2 different codes?
https://github.com/Tom-evnut/Land-Rover-Gearknob
You are talking about code Gen 1 JLR GSM. Maybe it's 2 different codes?
-
- Posts: 544
- Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:59 pm
- Location: Ireland
- Has thanked: 330 times
- Been thanked: 72 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
Hope this can help a bit. I tested both the new Gen1 and Gen2 sketches on my unit. So like VanGogh, neither is getting any action from the selector. However, from previously running some of Tom's CAN logs from Savvycan, the knob did raise but wouldn't retract. When Gen1 sketch started running, the knob did retract but wouldn't move after that. Connections as per Tom's post above, add/remove ignition brings on the back lights etc.
So connected savvycan and captured the log below. This starts with ignition off and I apply ignition on after a few seconds in the log. Sharing now in case its any use, but I need to compare this capture back to some of Tom's logs
Some sample output in the Arduino serial monitor:
So connected savvycan and captured the log below. This starts with ignition off and I apply ignition on after a few seconds in the log. Sharing now in case its any use, but I need to compare this capture back to some of Tom's logs
Some sample output in the Arduino serial monitor:
Code: Select all
386688,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x05, 0x08, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386709,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x06, 0x09, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386731,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x07, 0x0A, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386752,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x08, 0x0B, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386774,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x09, 0x0C, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386795,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x0A, 0x0D, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386816,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x0B, 0x0E, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386837,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x0C, 0x0F, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386859,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x0D, 0x10, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386880,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x0E, 0x11, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386902,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x00, 0x03, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
386923,0x3F3,false,8, 0x7C, 0x24, 0x01, 0x04, 0xFE, 0xFF, 0x01, 0x00
-
- Posts: 1868
- Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 9:15 pm
- Location: Bristol
- Has thanked: 156 times
- Been thanked: 398 times
Re: can id´s 4 Gear Selector
So it is possible this is slightly unique. I wont know till I get my hands on one, so if anyone is up for sending me one please reach out.