Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Introduction and miscellaneous that we haven't created categories for, yet
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by johu »

I received them last week but I'm currently busy with the 40 kWh swap. Will put them up soon.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

johu wrote: Wed Jun 09, 2021 6:03 pm I received them last week but I'm currently busy with the 40 kWh swap. Will put them up soon.
Cool - thanks!
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by johu »

Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
nkiernan
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by nkiernan »

Order is in now, cheers Johu
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

Same - ta!
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

I've knocked up a snapfit case for this. Not waterproof, but you could make it so with a bit of silicone. Thought it might be useful for others.

Note that the naming seems a little reversed because the way I ended up doing it - lid looks like the base and vice versa. But the board should sit inside the base with the screw terminals facing upwards.

STLs attached. Link below if anyone wants to modify (though can't guarantee that link will be there forever).

https://a360.co/3d8dWo7
Attachments
lid.stl
(40.51 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
base.stl
(53.4 KiB) Downloaded 68 times
snapfit.jpg
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by johu »

Very cool :) After all the mounting holes I forgot won't matter.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

Ha! I always find the mounting holes on things are too small anyway. Even if they're big enough, that means more screws & hardware - something the Munro guys would hate. With a bit more time I would try to design it to clamp the edge of the PCB when it locks down, but not necessary on something this small.
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

Having a bit of a problem with my unit. I'm seeing 12v on the 5v output? Wonder if the voltage regulator is bad?
nkiernan
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by nkiernan »

bobby_come_lately wrote: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:31 am Having a bit of a problem with my unit. I'm seeing 12v on the 5v output? Wonder if the voltage regulator is bad?
Just checked mine (recently received from Johu) and all looks ok, so must be a one off issue?
67.gif
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

nkiernan wrote: Sun Jul 25, 2021 3:35 pm
bobby_come_lately wrote: Sat Jul 24, 2021 7:31 am Having a bit of a problem with my unit. I'm seeing 12v on the 5v output? Wonder if the voltage regulator is bad?
Just checked mine (recently received from Johu) and all looks ok, so must be a one off issue?

67.gif
Hmmm - thank you. Will do some more testing and message Johannes.
nkiernan
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by nkiernan »

bobby_come_lately wrote: Mon Jul 26, 2021 6:41 am
Hmmm - thank you. Will do some more testing and message Johannes.
Did you get to do any more troubleshooting with the pressure sensor? On the bench mine worked 100% as you saw in the post above. So this evening I connected the VAG vacuum pump and setup worked once, but then the pump would not turn off. Tested the brake pressure sensor on the bench again and now I am getting the same as you, 12V on the 5V connections. So first time the servo was run, something looks to blow! Had you also connected a vacuum pump?
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

nkiernan wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 7:02 pm
bobby_come_lately wrote: Mon Jul 26, 2021 6:41 am
Hmmm - thank you. Will do some more testing and message Johannes.
Did you get to do any more troubleshooting with the pressure sensor? On the bench mine worked 100% as you saw in the post above. So this evening I connected the VAG vacuum pump and setup worked once, but then the pump would not turn off. Tested the brake pressure sensor on the bench again and now I am getting the same as you, 12V on the 5V connections. So first time the servo was run, something looks to blow! Had you also connected a vacuum pump?
Ah interesting! No, not really gotten any further. I put it on the bench and confirmed 12V on the 5V but not tried to diagnose beyond that. But sounds like I might be more than a one off then. I've not actually contacted Johannes about it yet.
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by johu »

Looks like the 1u bypass cap I mounted is not sufficient. Send me a message in 2 weeks (it might drown otherwise) and I will send you replacement boards. The new boards I tested like on the video, they have 10u caps that soak up the turnoff spikes better.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

johu wrote: Sat Aug 07, 2021 8:02 pm Looks like the 1u bypass cap I mounted is not sufficient. Send me a message in 2 weeks (it might drown otherwise) and I will send you replacement boards. The new boards I tested like on the video, they have 10u caps that soak up the turnoff spikes better.
Brilliant - thank you. Will drop you a line when I'm back from my holidays.
nkiernan
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by nkiernan »

johu wrote: Sat Aug 07, 2021 8:02 pm Looks like the 1u bypass cap I mounted is not sufficient. Send me a message in 2 weeks (it might drown otherwise) and I will send you replacement boards. The new boards I tested like on the video, they have 10u caps that soak up the turnoff spikes better.
Would the boards be damaged further when that cap goes, or is changing the cap alone ourselves a solution to save you sending new boards?
User avatar
bobby_come_lately
Posts: 393
Joined: Sun May 03, 2020 5:39 am
Location: Manchester, UK
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by bobby_come_lately »

Also happy to just swap the cap if that's an option.
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by johu »

The cap and the 5V regulator.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by johu »

Turns out that there is a problem with the 5V regulator. It is specified for 15V input max, of course with some tolerance. So some boards work, some don't. A good replacement is the NCP1117-5.0 which tolerates up to 20V input.

If you bought a board please let me know whether you need me to send an NCP1117 to you or a new board.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
Alibro
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:24 am
Location: Co Armagh, N. Ireland
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by Alibro »

I have only bench tested mine so far using a 12V battery. I take it the problem only shows with the 12V battery on charge?

If so will this part fix the issue? I don't mind ordering and fitting myself.
https://ebay.us/QI1szE
I need a bigger hammer!
nkiernan
Posts: 265
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2020 8:59 pm
Location: Ireland

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by nkiernan »

Is the bypass cap mentioned above ok now if the regulator is changed?
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by johu »

Alibro wrote: Sun Sep 05, 2021 12:58 pm I have only bench tested mine so far using a 12V battery. I take it the problem only shows with the 12V battery on charge?

If so will this part fix the issue? I don't mind ordering and fitting myself.
https://ebay.us/QI1szE
Yes, maybe that's what saved you. Or you have a strong part. You need to find it in SOT-223 package.
nkiernan wrote: Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:37 pm Is the bypass cap mentioned above ok now if the regulator is changed?
Yes, bypass cap change applies also.
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
Alibro
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:24 am
Location: Co Armagh, N. Ireland
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by Alibro »

johu wrote: Sun Sep 05, 2021 3:52 pm
Alibro wrote: Sun Sep 05, 2021 12:58 pm I have only bench tested mine so far using a 12V battery. I take it the problem only shows with the 12V battery on charge?

If so will this part fix the issue? I don't mind ordering and fitting myself.
https://ebay.us/QI1szE
Yes, maybe that's what saved you. Or you have a strong part. You need to find it in SOT-223 package.
nkiernan wrote: Sun Sep 05, 2021 1:37 pm Is the bypass cap mentioned above ok now if the regulator is changed?
Yes, bypass cap change applies also.
Are these correct?
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_ArbeGE

Also have you a link for the caps? or can you tell me what type they are please?
I'd much rather sort this myself, then I can claim it was all my own work. :lol:
I need a bigger hammer!
User avatar
johu
Site Admin
Posts: 3718
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 10:52 pm
Location: Kassel/Germany
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by johu »

Alibro wrote: Sun Sep 05, 2021 9:49 pm Are these correct?
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_ArbeGE

Also have you a link for the caps? or can you tell me what type they are please?
I'd much rather sort this myself, then I can claim it was all my own work. :lol:
Well, the part number is correct. Caps are 0805 10uF and at least 25V.
No problem with you claiming that, less work for me ;)
Support R/D and forum on Patreon: https://patreon.com/openinverter - Subscribe on odysee: https://odysee.com/@openinverter:9
Alibro
Posts: 430
Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2020 9:24 am
Location: Co Armagh, N. Ireland
Contact:

Re: Hardware threshold switch for brake vacuum pump

Post by Alibro »

johu wrote: Mon Sep 06, 2021 8:19 am
Alibro wrote: Sun Sep 05, 2021 9:49 pm Are these correct?
https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_ArbeGE

Also have you a link for the caps? or can you tell me what type they are please?
I'd much rather sort this myself, then I can claim it was all my own work. :lol:
Well, the part number is correct. Caps are 0805 10uF and at least 25V.
No problem with you claiming that, less work for me ;)
Thanks Johu
So I've ordered these https://ebay.us/RoMbgm and these https://s.click.aliexpress.com/e/_ArbeGE
I'll report back when they arrive, probably around 8 weeks from now. Maybe by then I'll be far enough on with my build to need them.

But probably not. :oops:
I need a bigger hammer!
Post Reply