Power up version for complete Leaf

Nissan Leaf/e-NV200 drive stack topics
tomhanman

Power up version for complete Leaf

Post by tomhanman »

Hello to all of you electronics experts. I am sadly not one of you. I will do my best to become like you, but I do not, in all honesty, hold out much hope.

I have been a kit car builder, errm thats a UK think, it means when we buy or build a chassis and bodywork and we use mechanics/electrics from a 'donor' car.

I've used ICE donors up until now (it seemed like a good idea at the time) but now I have purchased a 2017 Leaf as a donor (wall fell on it!)

Unlike your various projects where you convert an existing car to EV, I actually would like to use the Leaf system in as full as possible state because my chassis and bodywork has no dashboard or brakes or, well, anything. And that is the concept of a 'single donor kit car' which makes for the cheapest, and often most reliable (should that be least unreliable?).

So I will be trying, as others that have gone before me, to figure out which bits of the Leaf we need to keep to maintain functionality in dash, brakes with regen, inverter, charger, motor, battery (repackaged) and even 3G connectivity! But no airbags, multimedia or aircon etc. That will be a massive journey for me and will involve a baptism of canbus.

Anyway, what this basically means (at this stage) is that I don't want to use the open inverter to control the Leaf motor, I want to do it with the Leaf! BUT quite obviously I would very much like to have 130kW of power instead of the 80kW that pulls my daily driver Leaf about. Yeah, who wouldn't?!