OpenInverter Mainboard in a Siemens Simotion?

Bart

OpenInverter Mainboard in a Siemens Simotion?

Post by Bart »

Dear everyone,

I am quite new to the EV-world, and have recently bought my first EV project. It contains a Siemens Simotion controller from the 90's-2000's that was built in the Think City (or Think Classic) cars.

Does anyone have experience in working with this type of controllers? I know they are older than what people typically seem to be working on here, but the electronic components are not that different, I think. I have been trying to get the controller to work with the original logic board, but to no avail. In order to communicate with the controller, specific adaptors, serial communication with an old computer (386 or 486 processor), and the right version of the Siadis (by Siemens) software is needed. In order to change any parameters, one needs two access codes, which only Think could give, which does not exist anymore. In one word: complicated.

I am starting to think this is not going to work in the way Siemens wants me to do it, and I am wondering whether the OpenInverter main board could be the way forward. In that way, I would have a better understanding of what is happening and hopefully more control. Moreover, I think the OpenInverter project is a great initiative and I want to support it.

Does anyone have experience with swapping the logic board on a Siemens (either Simovert or Simotion) inverter? I have peeked inside the controller, and saw that there are about 10 data transmitting wires connecting the logic board to the driver board. 6 of those are 'grouped' on the logic board, I am suspecting that these might be linked to the L1,2,3 High and Low.