Hi all

pmautomotive

Hi all

Post by pmautomotive »

Hi, Just joined. Been watching alot of Fiachra and Damien's videos online. Motor technician by trade. Some of the stuff you guys are at blows my mind. While I haven't had many hybrids or Ev through my garage I forsee it coming. Figure the best way to learn about is to do a conversion.

I was planning to keep it as simple as possible, using tested components. I have an old berlingo van I was hoping to drop a complete battery back into the rear off and box it in. Which would save having to dismantle cells etc. And use the original gearbox. Is there any advice on the easiest conversion components to use for a first time conversion? Tried and tested.

I was thinking Leaf motor and inverter to start. Seems to be a common conversion.

The coding end of it is probably my biggest fear 🙈

Thanks All
Cookie6000

Re: Hi all

Post by Cookie6000 »

Welcome!

Yep, stick to the tried and tested. At the time I kicked things off, Damien was working on the E46 Goose and fitting the Gen 1 Leaf stack and at the early stages of testing the VCU so take a look around the projects and see what fits the bill.

Work out first what kind of drive train are you going for. Motor hooked up to the existing gearbox - custom coupler fabrication - or sticking with the Leaf reduction gear and getting the custom shafts made. Depends what you are capable of or willing to get fab'd up and the associated cost but as you have seen from Damien, myself and many others, DIY can be pretty successful :D

Dont pass up looking at the Prius transaxle and inverter options. You can get the hardware so cheap now, it's a no brainer! The amount of work gone into the VCU's is amazing too. Massive amount of backup from the community if you need it. For build #2, I'm going the Lexus/Toyota hardware for sure. The Gen 3 inverter ticks so many boxes, it's hard to pass it up as a solution on a budget.