Page 11 of 21

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sun Oct 10, 2021 5:57 am
by larsrengersen
Correct, the isolation test is indeed during the “Wait for confirmation” state.
7A9E425A-95AE-4999-836B-52C91A03430C.jpeg
Car contactors open and CHAdeMO contactors closed does not happen.
You need to send “car in charge enable” aka “ready to receive charge”. So at that point the car contactors are closed. Only further down the process the CHAdeMO contactors close. If you open the car contactors amd thus send “car not ready to receive charge” the process will abort. See process flow here https://www.evcreate.nl/chademo-fast-ch ... mo-process

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 08, 2022 11:32 pm
by Dusty4
Hello,
How does the web interface work with this board, I have flashed the board and I had a spare esp8266 for an inverter board I had. Do I need the flash the esp8266 with and updated web interface?

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 6:03 pm
by Isaac96
Dusty4 wrote: Sat Jan 08, 2022 11:32 pm Hello,
How does the web interface work with this board, I have flashed the board and I had a spare esp8266 for an inverter board I had. Do I need the flash the esp8266 with and updated web interface?
There may have been an 'official' ESP flash for fast charge at some point. Which board do you have exactly?

I put together an interface of sorts for a specific vehicle (Tesla pack and BMS) at one point. I'll see if I can dredge it up again, no promises :)

On a semi-related note, I'm having issues with proximity triggering. Pin 7 gets pulled low by the station upon plugging in, and this current is enough to trigger the relays on Damien's custom boards. But a standard relay (with coil resistance of ~75 ohms) will not trigger. I suppose a mosfet is in order here.
Does anyone have numbers on the current range? I'm seeing a resistor on the EVSE side in some diagrams.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2022 9:15 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
This question may be dumb, but, well, I'm dumb.

Do I need to do anything to the ISA shunt to set it up for use? Right now I just wired it up and that's it.

I went and attempted to charge for the first time today, and it appears that the process failed right when the board started to need info from the shunt. Frankly, it was too cold to do other trouble shooting even though I had a CAN sniffer with me.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 2:49 am
by Isaac96
There is an initialization procedure in the library (it tells the shunt to send more things, changes timings, and changes endian-ness).

Assuming you're running one of the Due-based boards, the SimpleISA example has an initialization function triggered by pressing 'i' in serial monitor.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2022 2:58 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Isaac96 wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 2:49 am Assuming you're running one of the Due-based boards, the SimpleISA example has an initialization function triggered by pressing 'i' in serial monitor.
I'm using one of Damien's Chademo specific boards.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:59 am
by Bratitude
P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 2:58 pm
I'm using one of Damien's Chademo specific boards.

One of the stm32 based boards?

I just soldered up my board, upon looking through the GitHub there’s :

https://github.com/damienmaguire/Chadem ... _HowTo.pdf

And

https://github.com/damienmaguire/Chadem ... /SimpleISA

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:19 am
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Bratitude wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:59 am
P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: Sun Jan 16, 2022 2:58 pm
I'm using one of Damien's Chademo specific boards.

One of the stm32 based boards?

I just soldered up my board, upon looking through the GitHub there’s :

https://github.com/damienmaguire/Chadem ... _HowTo.pdf

And

https://github.com/damienmaguire/Chadem ... /SimpleISA
I believe so. It was a complete and preprogrammed board.

I'll be honest, I've read through that several times and I'm not sure what I'm looking at, or more precisely how it helps. As I read it, the set up is done over CAN, is that correct?

I guess my next dumb question would be whether the current firmware does that setup itself or if I need to do it separately? And if the current firmware doesn't, is there a way to do so via the web interface?

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:36 am
by Bratitude
P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:19 am

I believe so. It was a complete and preprogrammed board.
small chip? then its an stm
Screen Shot 2022-01-16 at 10.33.14 PM.png
P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:19 am
I'll be honest, I've read through that several times and I'm not sure what I'm looking at, or more precisely how it helps. As I read it, the set up is done over CAN, is that correct?
yeah the isa shunts are programed over can.

P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:19 am
does that setup itself or if I need to do it separately? And if the current firmware doesn't, is there a way to do so via the web interface?
im guessing we have a few options here:

one is that the stm board dose has the initialize function in the firmware just like the due/sam based boards, so just like issac said we need to hit i in the serial console when we have the board plugged in via the serial port.


if this isnt the case maybe we can try compelling the sam/due based code onto a ardiuno due and use that as a "programer" for the isa. this seems crazy but should work just fine.

from what it looks like there isnt much in the way of a web interface for this.

ill be taking a crack at this shortly so we are in this together

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:50 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Ok I'm starting to wrap my head around this. A couple questions:

Johannes, if I just input "i" to the custom command input on the web interface, would that be the same as inputting it via serial? The wiki is unclear to me.
EDIT: I just tried this and got an "unknown command sequence" error. The wiki says that the custom command input can be used for terminal commands that haven't been brought out to the interface, whats the correct command/procedure to do that?

If not, can anyone tell me what I need to connect to the programming port so I can access via serial? I'm not seeing a part # on the BOM or a clear pinout on the schematic.

As a side note, I really appreciate the help on this, I've committed to taking the car on a week-long event starting February 6th, so I need to make this work.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:13 pm
by Bratitude
P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 1:50 pm
If not, can anyone tell me what I need to connect to the programming port so I can access via serial? I'm not seeing a part # on the BOM or a clear pinout on the schematic.
youll need to connect a stlink to the 3.3v, gnd, swclk and swdio pins on the programming port, i think on our boards its labeled as 'sdwprog"

stlinks are cheap: https://www.amazon.ca/CANADUINO-Compati ... B07B2K6ZPK

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Mon Jan 17, 2022 8:00 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Bratitude wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 5:13 pm
youll need to connect a stlink to the 3.3v, gnd, swclk and swdio pins on the programming port, i think on our boards its labeled as 'sdwprog"

stlinks are cheap: https://www.amazon.ca/CANADUINO-Compati ... B07B2K6ZPK
Got it. I've got one on order, and I think I've figured out the pinout of the programming port on the board. Should have more to report on Friday.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2022 6:57 am
by Isaac96
You could also use whatever other CAN board you have available to send the required messages.

These are just pasted from the SimpleISA library in current use on the Due-based Chademo boards.

STOP command:
<code>
outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=0x34;
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x01;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;
</code>

STORE command:
<code>
outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=0x32;
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;
</code>

And the settings command:
<code>
for(int i=0;i<9;i++)
{

Serial.println("initialization \n");

outframe.id = 0x411; // Set our transmission address ID
outframe.length = 8; // Data payload 8 bytes
outframe.extended = 0; // Extended addresses 0=11-bit1=29bit
outframe.rtr=1; //No request
outframe.data.bytes[0]=(0x20+i);
outframe.data.bytes[1]=0x42;
outframe.data.bytes[2]=0x02;
outframe.data.bytes[3]=(0x60+(i*18));
outframe.data.bytes[4]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[5]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[6]=0x00;
outframe.data.bytes[7]=0x00;

canPort->sendFrame(outframe);

if(debug)printCAN(&outframe);
delay(500);

sendSTORE();
delay(500);
}

</code>

You go STOP, settings command, then STORE.


The incrementing for 'i' in the settings command cycles through all 9 available readings, sets them all to cyclic, sets the bit ordering, and sets the interval.
I'm really not sure what the intervals are - they are set by bytes 2 and 3 but byte 3 gets modified by the value of i for some reason.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 1:03 am
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
I'm trying to connect with the ST Link and hitting the limit of my knowledge. I have it wired up, and it appears in the ST Utility that it is seeing the device, but I cannot figure out how to get to the/a serial monitor.

Do I need to connect via the utility and then use something like putty? Has this already been answered somewhere?

Apologies for the dumb questions but I'm pretty far out of my depth here.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:52 am
by Isaac96
Um... Does the ST Link actually do USB-serial? I can't find anything about that in the datasheets.

Do you have a link to the firmware for these STM32 boards?
I have one myself, haven't ever used it.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 8:10 am
by Bratitude
Isaac96 wrote: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:52 am Um... Does the ST Link actually do USB-serial? I can't find anything about that in the datasheets.
I’m pretty sure I was reading the serial data from my Gen2 Tesla charger board with my stlink.
But now come to think of it… it was my ftdi board.

P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: Sat Jan 22, 2022 1:03 am
Whoops. Sorry!

At least there cheap and now you can programs any stm32 board :)
Isaac96 wrote: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:52 am
Do you have a link to the firmware for these STM32 boards?
I have one myself, haven't ever used it.
This I was puzzled about. I guess damien never released it publicly?

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 12:52 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Isaac96 wrote: Sat Jan 22, 2022 5:52 am Um... Does the ST Link actually do USB-serial? I can't find anything about that in the datasheets.
If not the ST Link, how do I get a serial connection to the board?

I'm trying to avoid the Due route, because there are some older libraries that are broken, where I don't have a good one, and it won't compile. Just to get a CAN sniffer I had to use Collin's updater program. See below, which was a discussion specifically of the CAN sniffer, but I have had the problem with the other CANDue libraries as well.
https://openinverter.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2140

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 2:27 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Isaac96 wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 6:57 am You could also use whatever other CAN board you have available to send the required messages.
Ok, I am going to attempt to use Savvy CAN to send the messages.

Isaac and/or others, would you mind looking over what I have to make sure I've got it right before I send it? I think I may have screwed up the data because hexadecimal and I are not friends.

Initialize setup v1.0.PNG

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 6:54 pm
by Isaac96
18 decimal is 0x12 hex.

So for those incrementing bytes (data byte 3 counting from 0):
0x60
0x72
0x84
0x96
0xA8
0xBA
0xCC
0xDE
0xF0

That should match the original library's outputs. Not sure if those are desired values but it appears to be what works.

And perhaps a longer delay before sending the 'store' command -- I think the shunt needs time to save the values. Say 500ms? (Again copying the library.)

Otherwise all looks good!

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 7:32 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Thank you!

I'm hoping to test tomorrow. Of course the one weekend I need good weather ends up being the one weekend we actually get snow in Raleigh.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2022 5:12 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Isaac, hopefully final dumb question:
Should I have seen a response over CAN after sending the initialization messages? Because I did not.

EDIT: I think I fixed my issue. It'd help if I had wired the shunt correctly. Now off to test.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2022 9:49 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Annnnddddd not yet fixed. Failed slightly later, by seconds. Previously, would fail immediately after both sides closed contactors and began charging, now it hangs there for a second or two before dropping.

Question for Damien (or others if they know): How many amps can the board provide the contactors? I have a feeling mine are drawing too much.

I'm also not certain all is well with the shunt, but I'm a bit burnt out of wrestling with it.

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:14 pm
by Isaac96
Could you send a screenshot of the current and voltage messages sent by the shunt? I can plug them in and verify that format is good.

Your shunt may be in the 'wrong' direction too, I really don't know if there is any customary way to orient it (and if the current is negative when it should be positive, then the code will probably be unhappy).

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:40 pm
by Bratitude
P.S.Mangelsdorf wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 9:49 pm How many amps can the board provide the contactors? I have a feeling mine are drawing too much.
contactors are switched via one of the relays on the board.
PCH-112L2MH,000
5amp 12v

Do the contactors have a econimmizer ?

Re: Chademo Controller Development

Posted: Mon Jan 24, 2022 1:15 pm
by P.S.Mangelsdorf
Isaac96 wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:14 pm Could you send a screenshot of the current and voltage messages sent by the shunt? I can plug them in and verify that format is good.
I'll try to get some screenshots and logs this evening or tomorrow.
Isaac96 wrote: Sun Jan 23, 2022 10:14 pm Your shunt may be in the 'wrong' direction too, I really don't know if there is any customary way to orient it (and if the current is negative when it should be positive, then the code will probably be unhappy).
Yeah, I had the shunt the wrong way; After I fixed it I did start to see some CAN traffic as a result.