HV Box (Tesla LDU) Feedback Requested

Topics concerning the Tesla front and rear drive unit drop-in board
BlueHorizon

HV Box (Tesla LDU) Feedback Requested

Post by BlueHorizon »

Hi,

After having purchased a V2 Tesla LDU board from Damien years ago and after waiting for bodywork on my 1980 911 to be complete during COVID, I'm finally getting back to planning my EV conversion!

Specifically, I'd like to get some feedback from the board members and input on the way I'm putting together my high voltage box that will house the main contactors and other bits. I should state up front that I am not an electrical engineer, but have a background in software engineering so I am learning lots as I go which, honestly, was the whole purpose of the project.

Please see attached what I'm thinking as far as the various components are going to be connected, in part based on Damien's docs but I tried to make it a bit simpler for my brain to comprehend as I start building these parts. I think most of the diagram is correct, however..

I decided to opt for the ZETA precharge unit and am a bit uncertain how that wires in. Specifically pin 3 and 6. I have pin 3 going to the ground input of the ZETA which is likely wrong and then pin 6 is going to the main (positive) coil contactor, which I *think* is correct.

Also, the ZETA unit I went for is considered for higher voltage (160-320 Volts) which I assumed is correct for this application, but again would appreciate thoughts. Details here on the unit: https://www.evwest.com/catalog/product_ ... cts_id=299

Let me know your thoughts. Also, I'm going to try to document as much as I can and am happy to contribute to any wikis.

All the best,

Garry
911EV_Wiring.jpg
EV_Builder

Re: HV Box (Tesla LDU) Feedback Requested

Post by EV_Builder »

Hi,
2P6S but you don't tell us how many in series in each pack.

My self I would try to 4P6S in that way you omit cable length differences. But maybe I'm wrong...

Regards
Converting an Porsche Panamera